Stupid Basic Size Question

Where the magic happens...or something...
Post Reply
User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2924
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Stupid Basic Size Question

Post by NECRAT » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:56 pm

This stems from a conversation I had earlier.

In a new radio facility, multi station cluster, how many square feet total does the radio station typically require?

I know this is a loaded question but ball-park wise.
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 727
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Stupid Basic Size Question

Post by Shane » Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:45 pm

we have 3 stations in 5400 sq ft. and that's probably large today. (One of my previous places had 2 stations in 10,000 feet but those were the days!)

I know of a standalone AM in KC that exists in about 1500 feet or less. You usually get some space efficiencies with a cluster.
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 551
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: Stupid Basic Size Question

Post by KPJL FM » Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:36 am

8x10 for a control room, 8x10 for a guest studio. Worked at an AM like that for 7 yrs.
2 shelves in an ordinary closet for a 'studio-in-a-box'.
In my basement, I have a studio, prod, and xmtr in a 8x6 space (the wife wouldn't let me take over the laundry area). :lol:
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

Post Reply