Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

A case of PEBKAC (Problem Exists Between Keyboard and Chair)? Tell us about your war stories!
Post Reply
BingNYEng
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY

Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by BingNYEng » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:01 am

I got a frantic call from a morning show this morning.
They were done with their live show, and tried to bypass the board, which is usual practice when the station is voicetracked.
Every time they pulled the faders down, the station went silent, so they called me.
My first question - are your monitors in Program or Air?
Yup - it's gonna be one of those days.

User avatar
rockmanac
Moderator
Posts: 1201
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:18 am
Location: St. Paul, MN
Contact:

Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by rockmanac » Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:28 pm

Heh. Our automation today kept trying to close the master fader on us.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Addie Chernow
Director, WCCO-TV
WWW - @chernowa - KC9JHY

Formerly:
OverDrive Operator, WKOW-TV
Director/Technical Director, WKOW-TV
Director/MCO, WREX-TV

boiseengineer(old)

Re: Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by boiseengineer(old) » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:19 pm

It's the silence between you asking if the monitors are in program and "Oh #%^$" that's priceless.

User avatar
davek
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by davek » Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:32 am

Did they even know that the monitors could be changed from Program to Air?

radiostuff1400
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by radiostuff1400 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:58 am

BingNYEng

on the Broadcast Electronics FM3c Power Supply Motherboard

did you ever find that board ,,, i may have 1 ,, will have to check
bob

BingNYEng
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY

Re: Panic in the studio (sometimes you wonder)

Post by BingNYEng » Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:32 am

radiostuff1400 wrote:BingNYEng

on the Broadcast Electronics FM3c Power Supply Motherboard

did you ever find that board ,,, i may have 1 ,, will have to check
bob
Yep - already installed. Thanks.

Post Reply