Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Doesn't fit in a category? It does now.
Post Reply
don sainte-johnn
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:05 pm

Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Post by don sainte-johnn » Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:42 pm

Any suggestions on how to force the ID (and other time-sensitive elements) to run on-time?

(Our station typically runs 2-4 minutes late, causing problems for AMD--in particular.)

We call for the ID by using the following instructions that are placed inside of the music log that is integrated into the Program Log:

,+,00001,WAVE,KQQQ Legal ID

Is there a better tried and tested way?

Thanks.

TPT
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Post by TPT » Sun Nov 29, 2015 7:32 am

You can use the time immediate (@) or the time next (#) commands. Look at the current 2.3 manual (at BSIUSA.Com) at pages 82~83. Time immediate will advance and place that event at a specified time, while time next will cue up that event as the next event after the current file is done playing.

We have a similar problem, with a 'semi-live' morning show where we grab their bits by Radio Spider, and insert between our local music. 6 to 10 we put in our own local news cast & ABC news off the satellite hard drive--so top of the hour is not time critical. However, at 10, we need to hit a live cast from a state network--so need to switch right on time.

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 766
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Post by Shane » Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:14 am

Be sure to have enough material before the # or the @ to get up to or past the time associated with the # or @. I believe Simian will stop if it reaches one of those and it isn't time yet.

TPT, why not record the 10am cast and play it while it's recording? Then, instead of hitting the exact time, you only need to be sure you're a little late (I'd say at least 5 seconds) going into the TOH at 10. You might lose auto-trim on the recording, though, so you will want to set the recording time pretty tightly.
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

don sainte-johnn
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:05 pm

Re: Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Post by don sainte-johnn » Sun Nov 29, 2015 12:00 pm

Shane, TPT

Thanks for the speedy reply.

TPT
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Simian Automation (on-time) ID Placements

Post by TPT » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:17 pm

We run a WW1 satellite feed most of the day. So the on-air computer is recording WW1 network spots during the morning show--which are then inserted into later stopsets.

Post Reply