Collins Power Rock Audio Hum??

AM Radio discussion. Directional arrays are FUN!
radioman1992

Collins Power Rock Audio Hum??

Post by radioman1992 » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:34 am

I recently started helping an Am Station Which Has A Collins 5Kw Power Rock, The Station has a noticeable hum when operation on this transmitter, I have checked the audio right up to the input of transmitter and found it to be clean and no hum. I am new to this model of transmitter and figure the brain trust here could help.. two thoughts that have crossed my mind is the low voltage power supply might need re-capped or there is an issue in the PWM Card.. Any thoughts???

COMMENG

Re: Collins Power Rock Audio Hum??

Post by COMMENG » Wed Oct 12, 2016 10:35 am

...the low voltage power supply might need re-capped or there is an issue in the PWM Card.
It could be those as well. There is power supply feedback via a ladder circuit to the PDM circuit to reduce hum.

It may be the electrolytics in the LV PS and in the PDM card need replacement. Have any upgrades been done in this area? Any logging info or documentation that caps have been replaced?

I would also check the condition of the 2.1 uf filter cap in the HV supply and the associated wiring.

Also check to make sure you have all three AC phases to the power transformer.

Be extremely careful as this puppy has a 13.5kV power supply. Never assume that cap has been properly bled by the bleeder resistor.

You might also contact this group:

http://mwpersons.com/tech-tips/AM/315R- ... mitter.htm

COMMENG

W2XJ

Post by W2XJ » Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:59 pm

Check for RF feedback first. Disconnect the program line, put a 600 ohm resistor across the input and see if there is still hum.

Dale H. Cook

Post by Dale H. Cook » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:45 am

COMMENG wrote:Be extremely careful as this puppy has a 13.5kV power supply. Never assume that cap has been properly bled by the bleeder resistor.