An old SS32

Get advice from the Nerd Herd!
Post Reply
Doug Erdman
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: Shawano WI

An old SS32

Post by Doug Erdman » Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:54 am

I just installed a motherboard in an old SS32 machine.
Now the machine won't allow me to install the drivers for the motherboard
When I boot up under safe mode it looks to lock up or stall at the agp440.sys
Anyone have any ideas, suggestions or thoughts about what to do so I can get this machine up and running????

Doug Erdman

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: An old SS32

Post by KPJL FM » Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:31 pm

at this point, i assume you're having trouble with drivers for the board chipsets, not anything to do with installing SS32?
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

Doug Erdman
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: Shawano WI

Re: An old SS32

Post by Doug Erdman » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:06 am

You are probably correct, any idea how to get around the troubles I am having??

radiokeith
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:06 pm

Re: An old SS32

Post by radiokeith » Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:28 am

I have replaced motherboard using Intel form Geeks

Most boards come with a driver CD

If not Google the board number and try to DL drivers on a Laptop ,Etc.

Mine worked OK other than having to add an extra Serial card

User avatar
Muadeeb
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:21 pm
Location: Dallas, Tx

Re: An old SS32

Post by Muadeeb » Thu Jul 12, 2012 12:10 pm

If you just swapped the motherboard and it wasn't the EXACT same model you'll run into these issues. Try booting where you can confirm each driver's load and skip the AGP driver. It'll force the machine into a very low res session, but you should be able to delete the offending driver from the device mgr to force Windows to look for a new driver.
Procrastination I can totally do. I'm good at it, I have a black belt in procrastination, it's an art form for me, I'm the absolute King of, well, I'll finish this thought la

boiseengineer(old)

Re: An old SS32

Post by boiseengineer(old) » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:05 pm

To move an SS32 to a new PC I've just pulled out the old drive(s if it's something like a RAID 5). Built a new array with a 20GB first partition. Loaded windows. Added a second partition of 20 GB (E:) and a third partition > 900 GB (D:), Then copied from the old drives the needed SS32 folders and been off & running.

Doug Erdman
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:00 pm
Location: Shawano WI

Re: An old SS32

Post by Doug Erdman » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:46 am

But the issue is when I re-boot in safe mode it gets as far as the agp440.sys, It won't allow me to download anything, delete anything it just freezes. When I try to reinstall windows it gets to a certain point and wont go any further. I have done hard drive diagnostics and the hard drive is ok. So when I try to boot up the hard drive, where do I go. I can't download drivers because this is the only machine I have that has the version 5 format.

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: An old SS32

Post by Shane » Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:34 pm

Boot Safe Mode with Command Prompt?
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: An old SS32

Post by KPJL FM » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:20 pm

change the video board. If it's an on board video card, add a vid card to the pc.
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: An old SS32

Post by Dale H. Cook » Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:59 am

It sounds like a system trying to load a non-existent agp440.sys. I would put the drive into another machine and use a registry-editing tool such as RegistryEditorPE (that works on non-boot drives) to eliminate the attempt to load agp440.sys.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

ChuckG
Posts: 874
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: An old SS32

Post by ChuckG » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:42 pm

You aren't trying to use the Scott reinstall CD are you? Or move the old hard drive (with windows and SS32) over to a new Motherboard? Neither is likely to work right unless your new motherboard is very similar to the old.
You really have to do a clean XP or 2000 install on a new drive to get the PC up and running, then copy your SS32 and other folders back from the old drive to the new drive.

If you are doing a clean XP install, here's how to disable the AGP440.sys:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324764

If you need Scott software or ASI drivers- I have all the version 5 stuff here, shoot me an email. I'm just a bit West of you in Wis. Rapids. If you feel like making the trip over, I'd be happy to load the PC up and get Scott running. I've installed perhaps 16 of those systems back when they were new..
cvgennaro at gmail dot com
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest