SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Get advice from the Nerd Herd!
Post Reply
denevans
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:11 pm

SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by denevans » Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:15 pm

We are a local college radio station that received a hand full of old SS32 machines. We'd like to move SS32 etc from them to some Win 7 machines. ( am trying, not succeeding). Have tried a Virtual PC XP, but the ASI6044 is not seen. Suggestions?
thank you

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3187
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by Deep Thought » Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:11 pm

My experience running old 16 and 32 bit Windows programs (and 16 bit DOS) has been pretty good on 32 bit Win7. Have you tried that? You may not need the VM.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

ChuckG
Posts: 916
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by ChuckG » Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:32 pm

SS32 runs fine on Win 7 or 8. Which ASI driver version are you using? Win generally won't see those old cards until you install the ASI driver. The one I used is ASIWAVE_300RC55.exe
I can email it to you if you need it, else it's on the ASI website.

FYI: the ASI cards are locked to their original SS32 installation folder by serial number.You can't mix and match or you'll get a license error.
The license data is in the /SS32/PB.INI file. It's encoded so you can't alter the serial numbers yourself. You'll have to copy that file from the old machine to the new, keeping it with the ASI cards it was installed with.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

User avatar
davek
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by davek » Sun Nov 16, 2014 4:42 am

Deep Thought wrote:My experience running old 16 and 32 bit Windows programs (and 16 bit DOS) has been pretty good on 32 bit Win7. Have you tried that? You may not need the VM.
Something to keep in mind when ordering PC's with Windows 7 or 8; you might need to specify the 32-bit version of WIndows.

WIndows 7 and 8 (32-bit version) use the same NTVDM found in earlier versions of Windows (Vista, XP, etc).
Windows 7 and 8 (64 bit version) do NOT support 16-bit applications.

A colleague of mine decided to "upgrade" to Win 7 64-bit, and suddenly found a lot of legacy applications he'd been using no longer worked. For most broadcast applications (save for high-end graphics work) I find 32-bit Windows is adequate.

denevans
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by denevans » Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:32 pm

First - Thank you all for your input

Win 7 - 32 - Bingo
Hammering computer to make 6044 Card fit - Bingo
VT32, TLC - Bingo
SS32 - Bingo
.... BUT.... The Display is not proper. The Hot Keys / Options Menu are huge. (see attachment - (windows display does nothing)
ideas?

Thank You
Attachments
ss32 display.png

ChuckG
Posts: 916
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by ChuckG » Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:17 pm

Display has to be set to 1024 X 768 or it'll look like that.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by KPJL FM » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:57 am

set the display before you start SS32. also, fonts/icons set to normal.
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

denevans
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: SS32 - Windows 7 - Virtual pc?

Post by denevans » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:47 pm

AND,, that worked

Thank you all for your insight and assistance.

Post Reply