Audio Vault Database

Meet our new DJ. His name is Otto Mayshun.
Post Reply
PBULKLEY
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:40 pm

Audio Vault Database

Post by PBULKLEY » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:16 pm

Hi, I am new here and my AV database has become corrupted, it seems one of my studnets decided to copy and paste it and Audio Vault doesn't like it. I have a back up but it is on a production machine, and as I said AV doesn't like the file to be copied an pasted elsewhere. Can anyone in here help me back up my database, or restore my database.
Thanks
Pbulkley
KFTW 90.9 The Eagle

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by Dale H. Cook » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:36 pm

PBULKLEY wrote:Can anyone in here help me back up my database, or restore my database.
Which version number of AV are you using? Are you using the MDB (Microsoft Access) or SQL (Structured Query Language) database?
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

PBULKLEY
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:40 pm

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by PBULKLEY » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:42 pm

I am using MDB and version 9.20.923 for Windows XP.

User avatar
countrykev
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:18 pm
Location: Not Wisconsin, eh?
Contact:

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by countrykev » Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:26 pm

Piece 'o cake.

Mind you, I have been on the SQL database for a while, so memory is a little rusty. But this should be the steps:

Make sure AVAIR and AVSCAN/AVSCAN Server are shut down. Go to the audiovault.mdb file. Rename it to .old or something along those lines.

Then go to the C:\audiovau folder and click "AVDBM"

It should recreate the audiovault.mdb file. Restart AVSCAN / AVSCAN Server. Let it do a complete scan.

(you can do a run->avdbm but that doesn't seem to work as well in the later versions)

Restart AVAIR. Enjoy life again.
What the heck am I supposed to write here?

PBULKLEY
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:40 pm

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by PBULKLEY » Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:46 pm

Thanks I will give it a try later on when I can take the station off the air.
Thanks for the help.
I will let you know if it worked.

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by Dale H. Cook » Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:51 pm

countrykev wrote:Mind you, I have been on the SQL database for a while, so memory is a little rusty. But this should be the steps:
All I can add is that you need to shut doen all running applications that use the database - on my Vaults (back when we used the MDB database) that would have been Audiovau.exe (all screens - AVNet, AVRPS, AVSat), AVAir, AVScan and NFServeW.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

PBULKLEY
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:40 pm

Re: Audio Vault Database

Post by PBULKLEY » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:03 pm

Thanks guys it worked.
Paul

Post Reply