TLC not connecting to DISPATCH

Meet our new DJ. His name is Otto Mayshun.
bundy316

TLC not connecting to DISPATCH

Post by bundy316 » Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:52 am

Hello all:

I am part-time Radio Technologist for a small College in Northern Ontario, new to the position this year...

Recently our TLC program will not connect to DISPATCH (or show destinations), AFAIK nothing was changed in the config of TLC. It can see the DISPATCH computer over the network and DISPATCH can see the TLC machine correctly and navigate to each other over the network.

The VT32 program which runs on the same computer as TLC can be picked up by DISPATCH on port 992 and it shows it connected when a show nodes is done in DISPATCH.

When I start TLC it cannot connect to DISPATCH on port 991, settings in TLC are broadcast on 990 and send to 991. Getting failed to connect to DISPATCH error.

We are running on winXP, most of the folders are shared (audio etc...)

I am new to the engineering side, but worked in IT for 16 years and cannot figure out this issue as settings in the apps appear to line up with Scott manuals and their setup (different port numbering aside)

Any help appreciated.

Thanks!

techboywi

Re: TLC not connecting to DISPATCH

Post by techboywi » Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:04 pm

Sounds like a firewall issue blocking one of the ports.
Bob Colon
http://www.bobs-world.net (personal site)
http://www.facebook.com/techguy1975 (Facebook page)
Twitter:techguytn1975
"Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today"--James Dean

KPJL FM

Post by KPJL FM » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:27 am

3 things to try:

1. In SS32, try finding Dispatch. go Options, IP, Get Dispatch Address. Pay attention to the Local Address shown at the bottom of the screen, especially the port.

2. Check the settings in Dispatch for the path to TLC. If the station folder has changed or moved, correct it.

3. Change the IP address of either TLC machine or SS32.