SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Meet our new DJ. His name is Otto Mayshun.
Post Reply
acannon420
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:26 am

SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by acannon420 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:34 am

HELLO ALL!!

We're using TLC v 5.02.02 on our Production machine. The machine was WIN-XP until this weekend when we finally moved it UP to WIN7. Now I'm having issues getting the parallel-port dongle activated. Software says the driver is installed, but for some reason the driver cannot start. I'd be welcome to ANY/ALL suggestions here. Is there a different WIN7 driver I need? Is there a WIN7 setting I've got wrong? MUCH thanks in advance....

-Andrew

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by Shane » Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:59 pm

Possibly need a different driver or swap in the parallel dongle for a USB one.
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

ChuckG
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by ChuckG » Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:20 pm

There are a couple of quirks installing TLC on Windows 7/8/10.
You have to copy MMTypes.OCX and MMTools.OCX to the /windows/system directory by hand, (steal them from a working TLC installation),
Set TLC to run in compatibility mode for XP sp3
And there is an updated dongle driver for 7/8/10. I tried to attach it here but the board won't let me. IM me your email address and I'll send it to you.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

acannon420
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:26 am

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by acannon420 » Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:02 pm

ChuckG wrote:There are a couple of quirks installing TLC on Windows 7/8/10.
You have to copy MMTypes.OCX and MMTools.OCX to the /windows/system directory by hand, (steal them from a working TLC installation),
Set TLC to run in compatibility mode for XP sp3
And there is an updated dongle driver for 7/8/10. I tried to attach it here but the board won't let me. IM me your email address and I'll send it to you.
THANKS CHUCK!! Have sent you a PM. My email address is in it. I really do appreciate your assistance!

-Andrew

Don
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:09 am

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by Don » Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:11 am

If you have support they will replace the LPT dongle for a USB one

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by KPJL FM » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:15 pm

Damn, Chuck, my new pc doesn't have a LPT!
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3217
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: SS32's TLC Dongle Activation on WIN7

Post by Deep Thought » Sat Feb 11, 2017 9:12 pm

Passed along by a veteran of the SS32 wars...
https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters ... CP~PEX1PLP

Config it for Legacy operation on all interrupts
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

Post Reply