Simian & Windows 7 Enterprise

Meet our new DJ. His name is Otto Mayshun.
Post Reply
TPT
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Simian & Windows 7 Enterprise

Post by TPT » Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:56 pm

Been going around and around trying to interface the Measurement Computing USB IO cards into a Simian system running on a Windows 7 Enterprise edition software. Started out with a Lenovo--adding just one card caused Simian to crash. Transferred the hard drive to a Dell Optiplex on a hunch it might be motherboard problems in the Dell. Simian will take one card, but adding the second causes it to crash. We need one board for incoming triggers(net cues) off a Comrex access, and the second board to drive a relay board to turn console channels on and off.

Here's the card:

http://www.mccdaq.com/usb-data-acquisit ... 24-37.aspx

We use these on Windows 7 Pro machines without any problems...what's different with the enterprise edition?

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 764
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Simian & Windows 7 Enterprise

Post by Shane » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:22 am

Might be silly questions but has BSI proved Simian out on Enterprise or only on the Pro version? Could you swap out the machines with others you have running Pro or install the Pro version on these units?
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

TPT
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Simian & Windows 7 Enterprise

Post by TPT » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:08 am

That's probably the problem, Enterprise is missing something or added something that messes up Simian--but we are stuck with this OS.

More background: I own three stations running Simian--both on 7 Pro and Windows 10 machines. Being using the MCC-DAQ devices for years with only minor problems (both to receive net cues and to drive relay boards for console channel switching). This summer we took over the operations of a local college's non-com after they blew out their media department. It is their air computer that uses Windows 7 Enterprise.

They also have some kind of convoluted system that requires all computers to be permissioned by password to access the internet, otherwise the computer is locked down. Which limits our options--for one thing, very difficult to get IT over to work on anything, they are too busy putting out other fires. We need internet access on this air computer since my mid-day guy--at our studio, not at the college, uses Teamviewer to load their syndicated shows & program logs.

We may have stumbled across a solution...the sound card is an Audio Science 5211, which has two opto inputs and two relay outputs. Simian is apparently accepting this as an alternative to the DIO24/37 cards without locking up. Seems we need a special cable that feeds off a header on the sound card out to a 9 pin "D"--BSW has ASI sending us one.

All I need is two net-cues (break start and end of show) & an off/on to run the weekly Metropolitan Opera broadcasts.

Post Reply