Designing Dipole Antenna Help

Want to know how something works? Harness the power of the Brainiacs!
spectech2

Designing Dipole Antenna Help

Post by spectech2 » Wed May 18, 2016 8:25 am

I am very new to designing antennas. My internship wants me to build a device that can pick up a 50Hz-2000Hz electric signal in the 1mV-25mV range underwater. Theres a fish that can do produce a 1mV/cm electric field, up to 2 meters. I can make the amplifying circuit and filtering circuit aspects of it but I would really like some help or ideas with this antenna or how to go about it. Plan on using a Diff Op-Amp and a few Op-Amps.

Thanks Mike

Dale H. Cook

Re: Designing Dipole Antenna Help

Post by Dale H. Cook » Thu May 19, 2016 5:28 am

A dipole is not practical at 50 Hz to 2 kHz - in order to work reasonably well in that frequency range it would need to be about 1,600 feet long.

Since you are using the antenna as an untuned antenna it just needs to be as long as feasible.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

spectech2

Post by spectech2 » Thu May 19, 2016 5:46 am

If possible could you point me in the right direction as to where to look this up? How to design, what shape it needs to be to pick up this electric field. I am sorry, im very new to antenna theory, im an electrical engineer who specializes in diff op-amp's and FET's and my boss threw me to the wolves. Ive been searching high and low just to find what I need and still scratch my head. Im just having trouble figuring out the shape of the antenna and length(small as possible). Since this fish creates a dipole the electric field doesn't propagate like EM waves. It falls off by the inverse of the distance cubed.

RGORJANCE

Post by RGORJANCE » Thu May 19, 2016 7:01 am