BE FM25T Tube Change issue

FM does it with frequency!
ChuckG
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: Svetlana Russian made tubes

Post by ChuckG » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:01 pm

Kelly wrote:
I frequently thought they should have renamed those tubes: Y-ME148.

I had a name that was slightly less family-friendly for them. Never had a tube crack it's ceramic as often as those and they were wildly unpredictable. Had one last 7 years, the next would crack inside of 24 hours.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Svetlana Russian made tubes

Post by kkiddkkidd » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:29 pm

Kelly wrote: I frequently thought they should have renamed those tubes: Y-ME148.
The YU148 was second only to the 5CX1500 for being a PITA for me. Others might have a broader view...
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

bill981
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Southeast USA

Re: BE FM25T Tube Change issue

Post by bill981 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:31 am

I've had both good and bad luck with Econco. First bad one was in a CCA FM25000G. Replaced it with a warranty one. Sent it back and called and they said is was a leaker. That was in the early '90s.

Next was this year. Had the POW! syndrome. Put in the spare, same thing. Got a well used rebuild from one of our other stations that worked very well. Got a newly rebuilt from Econco and that has been running fine ever since. It's a crap shoot.

W2XJ
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:15 pm

Re: BE FM25T Tube Change issue

Post by W2XJ » Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:02 pm

Its a a crap shoot because power grid tubes are closer to hand built than mass produced. Interelectrode capacitance can vary widely and at FM frequencies this can make a big difference. At one point I worked with another contractor who sold rebuilds. We had enough spare AM and FM transmitters to pre-test and grade tubes for AM and FM. We reduced the degree of it being a crap shoot. Basically the ones that performed poorly on FM were good for AM.

fmrfman
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:43 am

Re: BE FM25T Tube Change issue

Post by fmrfman » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:56 pm

disregard

fmrfman
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:43 am

Re: BE FM25T Tube Change issue

Post by fmrfman » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:59 pm

JammerDave:

No HD.

Don't have access to a SpecAN. At this point I think I would have to put the "interference complaints" in the not related category. Shes been rock steady and humming right along with the new tube.

fmrfman

jammerdave
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:03 pm
Location: West Sacramento, CA

Re: BE FM25T Tube Change issue

Post by jammerdave » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:54 am

Hmm.. If no HD, then check the AM noise if you can... Other than that, I'm stumped without a spec an..

df

fmrfman wrote:JammerDave:

No HD.

Don't have access to a SpecAN. At this point I think I would have to put the "interference complaints" in the not related category. Shes been rock steady and humming right along with the new tube.

fmrfman

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest