FM radio antenna

FM does it with frequency!
Bonaro

FM radio antenna

Post by Bonaro » Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:45 am

I want to improve the FM radio reception in my garage/man cave. I want to build a indoor or outdoor antenna. I have been googling around for some antenna plans and found many but I dont know which one to build. I am pretty handy about most things but I am just learning about antennas/eletronics.

Can you guys link me to some plans I can buld?

TPT

Re: FM radio antenna

Post by TPT » Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:11 am

A quick google:

https://archive.org/details/VhfHandbook

Various amateur publications give you formulae to design antennas for 6 and 2 meters---which straddle the FM band. You can adjust these formulas for FM frequencies & build some interesting antennas out of copper water pipe. My friend Bob built a folded dipole out of pipe for an FM translator for our FM station that worked for years before we replaced it with a commercial circularly polarized antenna.

All depends on what you need--a highly directional antenna to pick up a weak station, or an omni-directional antenna to get more signal into your FM radio.

Bonaro

Post by Bonaro » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:15 pm

I will explain my situation and maybe you can make a suggestion.

I live in the foothills of south Puget Sound and I'm trying to tune to stations only in Seattle, about 50 miles away. I have near line of sight with only a couple low hills between us. I also have 750Kva power transmission lines in the line of sight and only about 300' away. Currently I only have a 20' piece of wire stapled to the rafters for an antenna and I get ok reception. Somethings the strength is low and the background hiss is high and i need to cancel stereo to make it better.

It would seem a directional antenna would work for me. Would making it larger be better?
I have read that adding an amp would amplify the noise as well so I am looking at a better antenna first.

Shane

Post by Shane » Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:27 pm