New member - LPFM transmitter recommendations

FM does it with frequency!
Dewey

New member - LPFM transmitter recommendations

Post by Dewey » Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:35 pm

A quick intro - my background is in avionics, with only a little bit of RF experience (most of my 20 year career was spent working with digital circuits and FAA regs). I am now a volunteer technical adviser for a community LPFM. So forgive me if some of what I provide here is simplistic (or even wrong!).

For the past 2 years that we have been on the air, we have had a Nicom 350. However, after several problems with this unit, we have decided to get a new transmitter and use the Nicom as our backup. We need 290W transmitter output in order to achieve 100W ERP at our single bay Shively circular antenna. We currently transmit in mono, so no need for a stereo encoder built in, although it might be nice to have in case we ever wanted to go that route.

I am looking for recommendations for a top notch transmitter with a budget of approx $5000. I have read a lot of great things about the Nautel VS300. Is this the best option? It certainly has some impressive features. Is there anything comparable? Sounds like Nautel is also rock solid reliable? I have heard and read mixed reviews about Crown. Also that Crown's LPFM units are made by another company, so I was wondering if maybe the high power Crowns are good and the LPFM Crowns are not? How about PTEK or BEXT?

About the only must have capability (other than the obvious like protection circuits) would be remote monitoring (preferably via direct TCP/IP) of Fwd and Ref power, modulation, and temperature.

Thanks in advance for any feedback given.

TPT

Re: New member - LPFM transmitter recommendations

Post by TPT » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:14 pm

Easy. Nautel VS300. Recommended Nautel to several stations, costs less than $5K.