adjustable Studio desk

Post Reply
Relay
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 9:59 am

adjustable Studio desk

Post by Relay » Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:45 pm

Does anyone have any pointers on where I can locate good Electric Adjustable height legs for a studio desk.
Are there any good designs that are out there for constructing such a thing.
I was thinking of using a three leg configuration for stability rather than a greater number to reduce also the possible points of failure and reduce complications in getting them to synchronize in their movement.
If anyone has been down this path and is willing to share some of the solutions that they discovered I would definitely appreciate that very much.

Thank you.

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by Dale H. Cook » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:36 am

In nearly 50 years in this business I have never seen an adjustable height desk in a studio. Consoles (and sometimes other equipment) are often cabled to punch blocks, and the mult cable used is designed for fixed installation, not for repeated flexing.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

awsherrill
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Raleigh NC

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by awsherrill » Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:55 am

KEZO-FM in Omaha used to have adjustable height studio furniture, for their Todd & Tyler syndicated morning show. I saw it on a studio tour some years ago. Not sure if it was custom-built or something they adapted from an existing product.

Since then they have relocated studios, and I'm not sure if the current studio location still has that feature. But their engineering staff can probably tell you whatever you need to know about that project.

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by Shane » Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:29 am

KHUB in Fremont, Neb., has adjustable height desks. Chris Walz is the GM. Tom Russell was the design and installation engineer. 402-721-1340. I dropped Chris an email; will let you know what I find out. Don’t let that stop you from calling.
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by Shane » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:12 pm

Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by kkiddkkidd » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:59 pm

Dale H. Cook wrote:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:36 am
In nearly 50 years in this business I have never seen an adjustable height desk in a studio. Consoles (and sometimes other equipment) are often cabled to punch blocks, and the mult cable used is designed for fixed installation, not for repeated flexing.
But in today's AOIP/IP world, a couple of Cat5 cables properly routed (physically) would probably survive very well... Multiple runs of Gepco 16pair maybe not so much.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by Dale H. Cook » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:09 am

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:59 pm
But in today's AOIP/IP world, a couple of Cat5 cables properly routed (physically) would probably survive very well... Multiple runs of Gepco 16pair maybe not so much.
Keep in mind that I work outside the top 100 markets. In my market a couple of clusters have digital consoles, but most of the market (and all of my clients) have analog.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

w9wi
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Pleasant View, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by w9wi » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:42 pm

Assuming AOIP, use patchcord (stranded) cable..

Ikea sells nice adjustable office desks. I'm thinking you could hack one to accomplish this -- possibly using only the legs & the mechanism?
--
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: adjustable Studio desk

Post by kkiddkkidd » Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:57 pm

Dale H. Cook wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:09 am
kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:59 pm
But in today's AOIP/IP world, a couple of Cat5 cables properly routed (physically) would probably survive very well... Multiple runs of Gepco 16pair maybe not so much.
Keep in mind that I work outside the top 100 markets. In my market a couple of clusters have digital consoles, but most of the market (and all of my clients) have analog.
As am I. I have one customer considering a major upgrade in the next year or so and are looking at various AOIP hardware. I hope to get to Vegas this spring to checkout the new hardware.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

Post Reply