XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post Reply
brandonb959
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:32 pm

XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by brandonb959 » Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:47 pm

We're automating one of our shows for the first time and I cannot get the relays on the XDS receiver to give me closure. I've been on the phone with Westwood One and they even sent me another receiver. The receivers have a test screen where you can manually fire off the relays from the front panel, but neither of them will give me closure...I've checked, checked, and rechecked my pinouts. I've even put the multimeter directly on the connector on the back of the receiver...I've also tried Relay B on both receivers. HELP!!! I'm about to drive myself nuts.

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by Dale H. Cook » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:30 am

Did you program them correctly in the online web interface? What program and what netcues?
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

awsherrill
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Raleigh NC

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by awsherrill » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:06 am

A couple of confusing things I have run into when helping people rig up their XDS relays:

The relays all have separate dry contacts. The pinout guide shows a ground connection. This is NOT a relay common. Each relay has its own pair of isolated contacts, I think the nomenclature is Relay (X)A and Relay (X)B.

When you are testing the relays from the front panel (going on memory here), when you get to the row of zeroes on the display that represent each relay, you move the cursor over to the relay you want to test...then you hit up arrow to change the zero to ONE...then you must hit SET for the relay to close. It will stay closed until you repeat the procedure to change ONE back to ZERO.

Hope that helps.

brandonb959
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 9:32 pm

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by brandonb959 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:43 pm

AH!!! I didn't realize, nor do I recall it saying in the manual that you must hit "set" after changing a relay to 1 for testing purposes. Now I'm on the right track. Thanks for your help!

Scott.Cason
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:54 pm
Location: LaGrange Kentucky
Contact:

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by Scott.Cason » Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:54 am

and to underscore what Dale said, make sure you are logging into the RIGHT XDS receiver to set up the relays. For most of this season, my XDS would not give me the end of broadcast closure for the Bengals' game. Come to find out, I was logging into the wrong website! Make sure you are logging into the website the content provider gives you, NOT the XDS' website.
LaGrange Communications - http://www.lagrange-com.com
Froggy 95.9 - http://froggy959.net/

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 713
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by Dale H. Cook » Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:10 am

Scott.Cason wrote:Make sure you are logging into the website the content provider gives you, NOT the XDS' website.
Scott -

Thanks for noting that. I didn't think to point that out, as I always read the instructions included with a receiver as well as its manual. I guess some people don't know how to read.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

Scott.Cason
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:54 pm
Location: LaGrange Kentucky
Contact:

Re: XDS Relays Not Working!!

Post by Scott.Cason » Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:48 am

Dale H. Cook wrote:
Scott.Cason wrote:Make sure you are logging into the website the content provider gives you, NOT the XDS' website.
Scott -

Thanks for noting that. I didn't think to point that out, as I always read the instructions included with a receiver as well as its manual. I guess some people don't know how to read.
Ha! I read them as well and THAT'S what got me. The receiver instructions had me logging onto the XDS portal but the instructions from the Bengals had me logging onto Premiere's portal...since that's who distributes their games. Once I did that, it worked like a charm. I'm just wondering why the XDS portal allowed me to log in at all when the receiver's SN should have indicated it was a Premiere box. :?
LaGrange Communications - http://www.lagrange-com.com
Froggy 95.9 - http://froggy959.net/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest