Multi band processing & monitoring

Swenk

Multi band processing & monitoring

Post by Swenk » Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:59 am

Hi all.

New to the forum, so apologies if I have posted in the wrong place.

I am mixing live bands on remote locations for broadcast to the Internet. My background is in live engineering (mostly musical theatre) so I am familiar with most tools available

Since I am streaming direct, the multiband processor will be with me on site. We are using Breakaway Live running on a dedicated machine as an insert (via digital spdif coax i/o) across the outputs of the yamaha 01v96.

Sure breakaway isn't the best solution, but it's what we'very got...

My question is where would you monitor audio...? Before or after the processing?

I was thinking of providing both via an a/b switch. Sound checking on the clean feed (so i can set compressors and eq accurately per channel) then mixing the broadcast on the processed feed. Thought being that way I'll be hearing what it sounds like to the listener.

Thoughts?
Last edited by Swenk on Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Deep Thought

Re: Multi band processing & monitoring

Post by Deep Thought » Sat Mar 26, 2016 12:09 pm

First question: How much processing are you doing?
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

Swenk

Post by Swenk » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:11 pm

Hi
Imagine a software version of a modern optimod unit.

The software is preset based. It does provide 'controls' but these aren't your usual eq, threshold or ratio.they do multiple things at once.

The preset I am using has

Agc stage
Mutiband compression stage (7 bands)
Peak limiter
Stereo widening

In pretty much that order.

I am using the 'jazz' preset which is pretty flat but with good capture if a horn solo goes a bit hot.

I am mixing jazz with a decca tree in the room, timed and panned area mics on the horns and spot mics on the rhythm section.