Arrakis 12,000 series console issues

kc8gpd

Arrakis 12,000 series console issues

Post by kc8gpd » Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:33 am

so i am engineering an internet / VT studio for a client. he has a arrakis 12k series console. i wired up punch blocks to the inputs, triple checked my wiring against the manual. so i hooked up a mic through a dbx 286 both confirmed working even tried different wiring between mic and dbx and punch block. i can't seem to confirm via meter movement that board is passing audio. i did add a line to mic level pad so i don't blow the mic channel inputs and i did jumper the prefader i/o on cn3 terminal. also the board has some mods pictured here https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bk11hy8slax7 ... PA3Oa?dl=0 i am unfamiliar with these mods although i have seen such mods in many studios i have no personal experience with these types of mods.

my question is does anyone have a experience with these boards that can shed some light on why the board does not appear to be passing audio?maybe i'm missing something simple? also can someone shed some light on these mods maybe via engineering notes of similar mods?

a lot of engineers have had there fingers in this particular pie and to top that off the guy when he moved did so in a hurry and just cut and ripped wires so i am basically deciphering several other engineers work with no notes on anything except the first engineers install nothing on the subsequent modifications to the original install and rebuilding the studio from scratch.

any help on this would be greatly appreciated i am studying the manual in the mean time to see if i am missing something that is preventing board from passing audio.
kc8gpd

"The scientists of today think deeply instead of clearly. One must be sane to think clearly, but one can think deeply and be quite insane."

RGORJANCE

Re: Arrakis 12,000 series console issues

Post by RGORJANCE » Sun Oct 29, 2017 7:43 am