Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

The voices heard 'round the world
Post Reply
w4cl
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by w4cl » Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:41 am

I know the British pirates in the 60's and 70's converted a couple of RCA's and Continentals's from MW to SW. Has anyone heard of any MW transmitters lately (besides WBCQ) converting any MW's to SW? It makes you also wonder how many BTA 50's and 315-318 50kw MW's are even still in operational condition to convert to SW these days and if you can even get the tubes to run these old beasts and at what price! :shock:

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by K9EZ » Tue Aug 12, 2008 1:29 pm

w4cl wrote:I know the British pirates in the 60's and 70's converted a couple of RCA's and Continentals's from MW to SW. Has anyone heard of any MW transmitters lately (besides WBCQ) converting any MW's to SW? It makes you also wonder how many BTA 50's and 315-318 50kw MW's are even still in operational condition to convert to SW these days and if you can even get the tubes to run these old beasts and at what price! :shock:
One of the old Collins 20V3s I had were listed as being able to operate .5 MHz to 15 MHz (I think).

There are also many hams that have converted many MW machines to 160 and 80 Meters.
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

User avatar
BroadcastDoc
Site Admin
Posts: 2723
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by BroadcastDoc » Tue Aug 12, 2008 1:46 pm

K9EZ wrote:
w4cl wrote:I know the British pirates in the 60's and 70's converted a couple of RCA's and Continentals's from MW to SW. Has anyone heard of any MW transmitters lately (besides WBCQ) converting any MW's to SW? It makes you also wonder how many BTA 50's and 315-318 50kw MW's are even still in operational condition to convert to SW these days and if you can even get the tubes to run these old beasts and at what price! :shock:
One of the old Collins 20V3s I had were listed as being able to operate .5 MHz to 15 MHz (I think).

There are also many hams that have converted many MW machines to 160 and 80 Meters.
In fact, Sammy may put an SX1 into service on 160 someday! :D
Christopher "Doc" Tarr CSRE, DRB, AMD, CBNE
Help support the Virtual Engineer, use our 1&1 Affiliate link if you need good, cheap hosting.
Virtual Engineer. The Broadcast Engineering discussion forum

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by K9EZ » Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:43 pm

BroadcastDoc wrote:
K9EZ wrote:
w4cl wrote:I know the British pirates in the 60's and 70's converted a couple of RCA's and Continentals's from MW to SW. Has anyone heard of any MW transmitters lately (besides WBCQ) converting any MW's to SW? It makes you also wonder how many BTA 50's and 315-318 50kw MW's are even still in operational condition to convert to SW these days and if you can even get the tubes to run these old beasts and at what price! :shock:
One of the old Collins 20V3s I had were listed as being able to operate .5 MHz to 15 MHz (I think).

There are also many hams that have converted many MW machines to 160 and 80 Meters.
In fact, Sammy may put an SX1 into service on 160 someday! :D
If it doesnt burn itself to death :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

w4cl
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by w4cl » Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:47 pm

Who wants to put a "small" rig like a SX1 on the air. I want to put a 317C2 on 40 meters and then "compete!"

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by K9EZ » Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:54 am

w4cl wrote:Who wants to put a "small" rig like a SX1 on the air. I want to put a 317C2 on 40 meters and then "compete!"

I have one out back with 650 hours on it. Matter of fact I also have two 200' towers sitting there too (on the ground). The ATU is real sweet as well. Wonder if we back that 317 up to this:
Image
, how well it would play........ :twisted: :twisted: :shock: :shock:
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

w4cl
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by w4cl » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:03 am

K9EZ wrote:
w4cl wrote:Who wants to put a "small" rig like a SX1 on the air. I want to put a 317C2 on 40 meters and then "compete!"

I have one out back with 650 hours on it. Matter of fact I also have two 200' towers sitting there too (on the ground). The ATU is real sweet as well. Wonder if we back that 317 up to this:
Image
, how well it would play........ :twisted: :twisted: :shock: :shock:

Cool!! Let's go contesting!!! (or put up a radio station, one!)

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by K9EZ » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:13 am

W4Cl,

You into contesting?????? 8) :twisted: We should chat.
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

User avatar
ajstriker
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:12 am
Location: Watertown
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by ajstriker » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:37 am

K9EZ wrote:
w4cl wrote:Who wants to put a "small" rig like a SX1 on the air. I want to put a 317C2 on 40 meters and then "compete!"

I have one out back with 650 hours on it. Matter of fact I also have two 200' towers sitting there too (on the ground). The ATU is real sweet as well. Wonder if we back that 317 up to this:
Image
, how well it would play........ :twisted: :twisted: :shock: :shock:
It'll all be fun and games until this happens:
Image
There's always room for a bigger amplifier!

User avatar
BroadcastDoc
Site Admin
Posts: 2723
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by BroadcastDoc » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:43 am

...and even that looks fun!! :D
Christopher "Doc" Tarr CSRE, DRB, AMD, CBNE
Help support the Virtual Engineer, use our 1&1 Affiliate link if you need good, cheap hosting.
Virtual Engineer. The Broadcast Engineering discussion forum

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by K9EZ » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:44 am

HEH HEH HEH... Yup thats what some of the contest stations look like.

Smoke em if you got em

Or as KPLJ says tune for minimum smoke.
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

w4cl
Posts: 476
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Re: Convert a MW Transmitter to SW?

Post by w4cl » Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:11 am

K9EZ wrote:W4Cl,

You into contesting?????? 8) :twisted: We should chat.
Not for a while. Have to make a living you know! :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest