IRDs

It's just radio with pictures! :)
kc9hta

IRDs

Post by kc9hta » Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:59 am

How many of you guys are using these IRDs: http://www.upcom.com/uc-irdplus.php

I've never used them before expect for return feeds in our satellite trucks.

NECRAT
Site Admin

Re: IRDs

Post by NECRAT » Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:25 pm

Same here. We only have them in one of our trucks.

Our in house stuff is all Tandberg.
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

w9wi

Post by w9wi » Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:30 pm

We have two. One is a backup for Heartland (ex-TNN) and seems to run forever. The other one we use for general occasional feeds. The web interface seems to crash occasionally. Otherwise, it receives just fine.
--
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

PID_Stop

Post by PID_Stop » Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:46 am

I've installed something like 27 of them in the past year, mainly using ASI or IP inputs (though we have several others that are doing satellite downlinks, too). There are tradeoffs, and this is our experience:

:D They are dirt cheap, especially compared to Ericsson.
:D They are easy to configure through a web browser, not too bad from the front panel.
:? The manual could be better. There are several undocumented settings related to IP streaming.
:| The IRD doesn't have a frame sync. This doesn't matter in many applications, so it might not be a deal breaker.
:D It handles both MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 video.
:D It decodes both MPEG and AC-3 audio.
:D The audio section handles two stereo pairs, which can be embedded in the video.
:( We have a problem with embedded audio "ticking" occasionally. They are working on a firmware fix right now.
:D There are both balanced and unbalanced analog outputs, and balanced AES digital outputs.
:D The receiver comes with all necessary cables, including audio breakouts.
:) It can pass Dolby E to an external decoder, if you need it.