Tandberg RX1290 issue.

More channels means more money for the techs, right?
onio
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 am
Location: UB , Mongolia
Contact:

Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by onio » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:42 pm

hello
i have some answer,i have i tandberg receiver RX1290.but i can't receiver HD(16APSK ,H264 HD decoding) signals satellite.i can receiver SD(8PSK ,H264 SD decoding) signals.can anybody help me?

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:25 pm

Sure.

First off, welcome to the forum. I moved your topic onto its own thread, so hopefully you can get more eyes this way.

The Tandberg RX1290 is a LICENSE driven receiver.

If you are using the output as SD-SDI, and receiving an HD signal, the receiver must come with the HD Downconver option enabled on it.
Your best bet is to tie into the thing using a web interface and see what features are and aren't licensed.

If you are not even receiving the signal, then you could have a issue with the receiver's firmware has gone corrupt. Give the receiver a factory reset and try it from there.

Also make sure you are using the latest firmware. (At least 3.15.0 or higher). Tandberg will email you the installer and firmware for this receiver at no charge.

I have several of these, and would be glad to assist you with it.

To also help us better, can you describe in more detail the specific problem you are having?

Thanks,
-- Mike
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

onio
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 am
Location: UB , Mongolia
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by onio » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:50 pm

i see web interface,i'm attached pic
now i buy license?
http://imageshack.us/f/822/5432h.jpg
16APSK disabled
Last edited by NECRAT on Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Imageshack doesn't allow for embedded pictures.

w4cl
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by w4cl » Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:28 am

It looks like from your picture that none of the HD features are licensed but the SD S2 (h.264) is.

onio
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 am
Location: UB , Mongolia
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by onio » Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:15 pm

w4cl wrote:It looks like from your picture that none of the HD features are licensed but the SD S2 (h.264) is.
now i'm buy HD license?

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:31 pm

onio wrote:
w4cl wrote:It looks like from your picture that none of the HD features are licensed but the SD S2 (h.264) is.
now i'm buy HD license?
That is correct, now you have to contact Ericsson and purchase a license for the receiver.
(Ericsson bought out Tandberg)

http://www.ericsson.com/article/televis ... 0929165259
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:23 am

You want the following items licensed:

16QAM Decoding
H264 HD Decoding
MPEG2 4:2:2 HD Decoding
DVB-S2 16APSK
DVB-S2 32APSK

You probably will want the AAC Audio Decoding turned on too.
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

onio
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 am
Location: UB , Mongolia
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by onio » Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:05 am

NECRAT wrote:You want the following items licensed:

16QAM Decoding
H264 HD Decoding
MPEG2 4:2:2 HD Decoding
DVB-S2 16APSK
DVB-S2 32APSK

You probably will want the AAC Audio Decoding turned on too.
okey tnks.sound is okey.i'm checked

vhfuhf
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 1:08 am

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by vhfuhf » Tue May 08, 2012 1:15 am

hi just out of curiosity, how much is a typical license that you have to purchase from Ericsson?

w4cl
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: 1 3/4 meters

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by w4cl » Tue May 08, 2012 5:48 am

We have stopped buying the Tanberg's and have started buying the Sencore's. They seem to decode better than the Tanberg's, particularly for S2. If the Tanberg's can't get it, the Sencore's do. We have six Sencore's now.

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Tue May 08, 2012 12:26 pm

w4cl wrote:We have stopped buying the Tanberg's and have started buying the Sencore's. They seem to decode better than the Tanberg's, particularly for S2. If the Tanberg's can't get it, the Sencore's do. We have six Sencore's now.
We've had the exact oppisite results as you have. We've gone more with the Tandbergs than the Sencores, due to the frequent issues we seem to have with the Sencore gear.
Out of the 5 Tandbergs and 4 Sencores we have, 2 Sencores have been returned back to the factory for board failure (Sencore covers the repair, as they know of a defective chipset) , and 0 for the Tandbergs. We also find the Sencores need to be reset more often and are more likely to fail on "long term use" (decoding for a long time).

We used to use two Sencore to decode our ASI feeds from Master Control, and after all these little hits on them, and other weird issues, we replaced them with Tandbergs, and not only did the odd ball hits stop, we also saw an improvement in the motion quality on the video. The other thing is with our HD-ENG receive. The Sencore won't decode the captioning off of the feed from our MTX5000, whereas the Tandberg has no problem with it.

So in my case, I've had a lot better success with the RX1290 than I have with the MRD 3187B
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

vhfuhf
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 1:08 am

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by vhfuhf » Tue May 08, 2012 4:39 pm

hi there,

no one's really answered my question though.

how much does a typical license cost? is it an annual thing?

Is there a price difference licenses for a Sencore then a Tandberg/Erricson?

thanks,

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Tue May 08, 2012 9:24 pm

The license is a one time cost to activate portions of your receiver.

And you need to contact Tandberg directly to get your answer.

(678) 812-6300
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

onio
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 am
Location: UB , Mongolia
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by onio » Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:10 am

vhfuhf wrote:hi there,

no one's really answered my question though.

how much does a typical license cost? is it an annual thing?

Is there a price difference licenses for a Sencore then a Tandberg/Erricson?

thanks,
now tandberg is erricson

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2939
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Tandberg RX1290 issue.

Post by NECRAT » Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:34 pm

onio wrote: now tandberg is erricson
Yup. I stated this about 7-8 posts up...
NECRAT wrote: That is correct, now you have to contact Ericsson and purchase a license for the receiver.
(Ericsson bought out Tandberg)

http://www.ericsson.com/article/televis ... 0929165259
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

Post Reply