Tandberg Encoder EN 8090 query

More channels means more money for the techs, right?
Post Reply
mohittech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:00 am

Tandberg Encoder EN 8090 query

Post by mohittech » Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:12 am

Hi,
I am using Encoder EN 8090 for a SD TV channel .Want to split its fast ethernet main port output into two parts ,and use it for two different decoders .
can i use ethernet splitter for this purpose or I have to use either switch .

Thanks
MOHITECH

User avatar
K9EZ
Site Admin
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Tandberg Encoder EN 8090 query

Post by K9EZ » Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:51 am

mohittech wrote:Hi,
I am using Encoder EN 8090 for a SD TV channel .Want to split its fast ethernet main port output into two parts ,and use it for two different decoders .
can i use ethernet splitter for this purpose or I have to use either switch .

Thanks
MOHITECH

Correct me if I am wrong, but that would be a multicast. I have not used the Tandberg...yet, but usually they require an destination IP address, no?
Kent Winrich
Owner, Consultant, Floor Sweeper and Official Thread Hijacker
Broadcast and Technology Blog http://sceotech.com/blog/
Raleigh, NC

mohittech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:00 am

Re: Tandberg Encoder EN 8090 query

Post by mohittech » Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:29 am

Yes ,multicast IP address is used ,with two differnet destination port Ip address(network address) one for each decoder .

mohittech
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:00 am

Re: Tandberg Encoder EN 8090 query

Post by mohittech » Sat Oct 26, 2013 5:17 am

K9EZ wrote:
mohittech wrote:Hi,
I am using Encoder EN 8090 for a SD TV channel .Want to split its fast ethernet main port output into two parts ,and use it for two different decoders .
can i use ethernet splitter for this purpose or I have to use either switch .

Thanks
MOHITECH

Correct me if I am wrong, but that would be a multicast. I have not used the Tandberg...yet, but usually they require an destination IP address, no?
Yes ,multicast IP address is used ,with two differnet destination port Ip address(network address) one for each decoder .

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest