HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

More channels means more money for the techs, right?
Post Reply
kc9hta
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:39 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

Post by kc9hta » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:44 pm

What name brand of cable does your station use? What's the longest run you've used with it?

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2911
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

Post by NECRAT » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:06 pm

Belden 1694A (Gepco has a matching cable that also works well, but it's much stiffer than the Belden)

We've done runs to about 150 feet with it. Anything longer than that, we use fiber. (Our studio cameras, which we have 10 of, are all fiber optic)

Also if you're buying cable, contact Walter @ Ramtronix. He'll beat anyone's prices, and the service is second to none there. Tell him I sent you.
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

User avatar
PID_Stop
Posts: 475
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Syracuse, New York
Contact:

Re: HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

Post by PID_Stop » Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:40 am

Belden has a chart listing maximum transmission distances for various types of cable at different data rates -- they give 371 feet as the maximum for 1.5Gb/s over 1694A. I have several runs about 300 feet, and our live trucks have 200' reels of 1694F (the flexible variant) that run with minimal problem, beyond needing to replace the connectors periodically when they get trashed.

I have never had an issue with Belden cable performing below their specifications (we have some legacy 1505A, a lot of 1694A, some 1694F, and a lot of 1855A)... so I have full confidence in their chart.

-- Jeff

grich
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

Post by grich » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:40 am

Our plant is pretty compact, so the whole place is 1505A. Longest run might be 150'. We're also using 1694F in the trucks, and have had good luck with pushing HD video. The photogs know if they have to start daisy-chaining reels, they will have to drop their cameras to SD.

Methodical
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:32 pm

Re: HD-SDI 1.5Gb/s

Post by Methodical » Mon Nov 25, 2013 9:04 pm

I'm pretty addicted to 1855a lately, using the belden HD brilliance connector system. 1505a for anything that might need it, and 1694a when I feel I have to. All using the belden brilliance connectors.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest