Another Tandberg question

More channels means more money for the techs, right?
Post Reply
grich
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Another Tandberg question

Post by grich » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:38 pm

Have two 1290's. Updated one unit just fine to the latest (3.17)firmware so Compusat is happier with it.

Second 1290 appears to accept the firmware into bank 0. Power-cycle receiver, old (really old...3.2) firmware in bank 1 boots up.

Anybody know how to force the bootup process to switch firmware banks? I seem to remember holding in the right arrow, but it didn't seem to work.

Thanks,

Gregg

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2949
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by NECRAT » Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:42 pm

Press and hold the right arrow while you plug it in. IIRC, you have to keep doing this until the proper bank is selected.
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

grich
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by grich » Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:13 pm

Thanks! The plug-in-while-holding-button part is what I wasn't doing. I'll need a helper to do that since it's racked up.

TheCave01
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:42 am

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by TheCave01 » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:53 am

grich wrote:Thanks! The plug-in-while-holding-button part is what I wasn't doing. I'll need a helper to do that since it's racked up.
Or just fix some tape over the button so that it keeps pressed, and you could do it by yourself without any help :)

grich
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by grich » Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:03 pm

NECRAT wrote:Press and hold the right arrow while you plug it in. IIRC, you have to keep doing this until the proper bank is selected.
That did the trick. Thanks!

Methodical
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:32 pm

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by Methodical » Tue Nov 04, 2014 4:51 pm

I just checked and 3.15.18 was the latest version I saw on ericsson's support portal. Am I out of the loop or was that a typo?

User avatar
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 2949
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by NECRAT » Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:28 pm

Methodical wrote:I just checked and 3.15.18 was the latest version I saw on ericsson's support portal. Am I out of the loop or was that a typo?
Is what a typo?
http://www.necrat.us

"Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"

Methodical
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:32 pm

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by Methodical » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:11 pm

grich indicated in the first post that the latest version was 3.17

grich
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by grich » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:41 pm

Yeah...it was a typo...sorry. I meant 3.15.17. There is now version 3.15.18 available.

grich
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Another Tandberg question

Post by grich » Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:00 pm

The procedure calls for a power-cycle. System Restart doesn't do that.

Post Reply