Live Motion Graphics

A place to discuss Webcasting
nerddigestive

Live Motion Graphics

Post by nerddigestive » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:35 am

I am a motion graphics artist and I use an ATEM switcher and control desk by BlackMagic. I need to somehow set up a videofeed that allows me to make a motion graphic in After Effects, render it, and then add text on the fly or recieve live input such as from a twitter feed. What software do I need to do this or must I make my own using something like PureData?

PID_Stop

Re: Live Motion Graphics

Post by PID_Stop » Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:14 pm

First, welcome to the forum!

I'm not exactly clear on what you're trying to do here -- if I'm reading your post correctly, it sounds like you're trying to display text that changes in real time over an animated background that you compose with After Effects, right? If it's that simple, I would think the easiest solution would be to use PowerPoint: build the motion graphic onto a slide, and set up to display the text as an RSS feed on top of the motion graphic. It should be a fairly trivial exercise to write an app that puts your text into RSS format (assuming that it isn't already).

On the other hand, if the motion graphic is something like a banner for a lower-third CG, and you're keying that and text over another live video feed through the ATEM, things get more complex pretty quickly. You should be able to store the motion graphic in an ATEM media store (assuming that you have a model other than the Television Studio, which I think only supports stills). But you still need to generate the text in a way that lets you key it, which implies some sort of character generator that feeds a key and fill signal to the ATEM.