Stream encoders

A place to discuss Webcasting
mbrockm
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Shenandoah, Iowa

Stream encoders

Post by mbrockm » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:27 am

Need some inexpensive hardware suggestions. Updating our stream encoders with securenet systems. Their newest cirrus encoder can encode for multiple stations. Trying to build a machine with at least 2 sound cards. I have been trying to build an HP dc7800 desktop with 2 sound blaster cards and windows xp. Problem is once I get windows xp fully loaded and all the drivers the machine will not boot successfully. If I pull a sound card out it will boot successfully. I am told I should use windows 7 instead. Question is what sound card or cards (cheap) can I use to allow me to have the 2 separate station inputs. Does not have to be xlr or any pro input. Suggestions on sound card hardware and pc hardware to use.
Mark Brockmeyer
KMA Engineering

themarcshow
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:10 am
Location: Hastings, Ne

Re: Stream encoders

Post by themarcshow » Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:51 am

I have an XP machine right now with 4 sound cards that is running fine. I have a rescued PCI AudioScience (high dollar) balanced card that is the streaming source for one stream.
The other cards are just being used right now to feed silence monitors.
There are 2 PCI cards. Real cheap ones I also salvaged from somewhere. I think a Soundblaster and EMU? Both just 1/8in. unbalanced jacks.
And then I'm using the motherboard soundcard.

I was at one time using that box to encode two streams and it worked fine. It was a headless tower that just sat in my rack room and never got accessed unless something was wrong.

I will float the idea that the two soundcards may be competing somehow driver-wise? Or maybe one of the soundcards is bad hardware?

And if you are looking for a real nice card, see if you can find a M-Audio Delta-44. It is a PCI interface that breaks out to a box with 4 balanced ins and 4 balanced outs (two stereo pairs in, two stereo pairs out). Problem is it's discontinued. But a quick google search showed someone with some in the $170 range.

Good luck
Brad Beahm
Operations Manager Platte River Radio
Hastings, Ne
kd0jct

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by Shane » Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:51 am

Sound Blaster cards will not play nice with each other. It seems you can only have one per computer and must turn off any on board sound or they get very jealous.

I am not aware of any other cards that behave this way except: while I have never tried to put two Echo Mias in one box, I suspect that wouldn't work either.
Mike Shane, CBRE
---Omaha---

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by Dale H. Cook » Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:05 am

Shane wrote:Sound Blaster cards will not play nice with each other. It seems you can only have one per computer and must turn off any on board sound or they get very jealous.
It may depend on the model of Soundblaster. If you go up in scale to the Soundblaster Audigy those seem to work better in tandem. I have not tried encoding with multiple Audigys, but have seen cheaped-out automation platforms that had three Audigys for playback on one platform.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

wb9fhr
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:34 pm
Location: Waukesha WI

Re: Stream encoders

Post by wb9fhr » Mon Sep 22, 2014 7:34 am

Built a stream system using e-bay located Echo Layla . 4 stereo in/out or 8 mono. Using it today w/4 streams. Works just fine. Running it XP, and drivers available for 7.

Dave Janzer
Milwaukee

User avatar
Bill DeFelice
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:29 pm
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by Bill DeFelice » Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:48 pm

Built a streaming encoder using three M-Audio Delta Audiophile 2496 cards. Initially built using Windows 98 Second Edition I never rebooted the box except for facility power failures. Operated over two years without a reboot. Upgraded it to Win7 Pro and just as solid.

Need to build another box but most newer machines lack older style PCI slots to use the Delta cards.

@mbrockm: My daytime 9-to-5 is a totally HP shop but the only 7800's I have handy only accept half-height cards so I haven't tried any of the orphan cards I have around. I would venture a guess that it should be more stable than my boxes using "white box" motherboards.
Webmaster
History of Westport Connecticut Radio
The WMMM Tribute Site

CampusBroadcaster.net
Legal, low power, license-free broadcasting for educational institutions

User avatar
radiowave911
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: Middletown, PA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by radiowave911 » Tue Sep 23, 2014 4:17 pm

When I built the encoders for our station (running Darkice to encode and send to an Icecast server), I had an issue getting the onboard sound to recognize properly in Linux. I bought a Behringer UCA202 USB audio interface for $30 off Amazon, works great for a stream input.

http://smile.amazon.com/Behringer-UCA20 ... +interface
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

http://www.wmssfm.com
http://www.sbe41.org
http://halloweenhauntings.org

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 543
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: Stream encoders

Post by KPJL FM » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:35 am

You didn't say, but if you're using two of the same make/model sound cards in Windows, probably won't work. At least not without a lot of registry configs. I never got two of anything to work in Windows, always go for two different cards. Even then, it may not work they way you were expecting.

A card with multiple ins/outs is probably best, assuming the software you are using supports it.
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

User avatar
radiowave911
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: Middletown, PA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by radiowave911 » Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:47 pm

Windows? That's them there things you look out of :D

Sorry, just had to.

Our old stream encoder did have 2 sound cards in it. As I recall, one was the onboard (it was a Dell PC) and the other an add-in card. I will have to look to see if I still have that box. It ran Windows XP, and we were not going to spend the money for the software again to move it to 7 (found out that once licensed for a machine, it cannot be moved to a different machine, and the machine it was on was not able to run Windows 7). No way was I leaving an XP box on the internet after XP hit EOL, even if it IS behind a firewall.
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

http://www.wmssfm.com
http://www.sbe41.org
http://halloweenhauntings.org

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by Dale H. Cook » Wed Sep 24, 2014 2:59 pm

radiowave911 wrote:No way was I leaving an XP box on the internet after XP hit EOL, even if it IS behind a firewall.
That depends entirely upon how it connects to the internet. Until last fall I had a Win2K Pro streamer connected to the internet, but it was not a public streamer. It was at an unpublicized static address and it pushed the stream to a commercial streaming server. It was double firewalled as a precaution just the same. The outer firewall worked so well that the script kiddies never made it to the inner firewall.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

User avatar
radiowave911
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: Middletown, PA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by radiowave911 » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:57 pm

This box WAS the stream server.

Now, I have a trio of Linux boxes handling the stream duties. Two running as the stream encoders (2 streams) and one acting as the stream server. The latter is pretty much locked down, plus it is monitored much more closely because it DOES touch the internet.
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

http://www.wmssfm.com
http://www.sbe41.org
http://halloweenhauntings.org

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Stream encoders

Post by Dale H. Cook » Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:16 pm

I never serve anything in-house. Web sites, email servers, FTP sites, and streams are all hosted out-of-house. Our IP is not public. True, if some script kiddie got a look at the headers of an email sent from a company account he could find it, but that's what firewalls are for. It is just a lot easier to police things if there is no publicly disseminated URL or IP address hosted in-house. I'm getting too old to want to do much IT police work anyway since I got rid of the part-timer who was surfing porn sites during his weekend shifts (I documented everything, restricted his access to sites needed for work, and kicked everything upstairs for action). :-) Thank heavens for Linux - it makes it a lot easier to build a good custom firewall, because I do not entirely trust the ones in even the better routers - information about those spreads through the nogoodniks faster than a nasty cold spreads through a broadcast staff.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

mbrockm
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Shenandoah, Iowa

Re: Stream encoders

Post by mbrockm » Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:56 am

Decided to just get a couple of refurbished machines with win7 for the new encoders. Would have been nice to have the streams on one machine. Oh well plan B.
Mark Brockmeyer
KMA Engineering

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 543
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: Stream encoders

Post by KPJL FM » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:05 am

radiowave911 wrote:Windows? That's them there things you look out of :D

No way was I leaving an XP box on the internet after XP hit EOL, even if it IS behind a firewall.
When M$oft stops supporting an OS, that means they finally fixed it! :oops:
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

MyRadio25
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:17 am

Re: Stream encoders

Post by MyRadio25 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:59 am

Interesting, how much CPU calculation power server requires

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest