Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

A place to discuss Webcasting
Post Reply
kc8gpd
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:32 am
Location: Arvada, Co 80004
Contact:

Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by kc8gpd » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:17 pm

anyone know if a Telos AudioActive encoder can be used with a shoutcast server setup? either v1 or v2?
kc8gpd

"The scientists of today think deeply instead of clearly. One must be sane to think clearly, but one can think deeply and be quite insane."

kc8gpd
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:32 am
Location: Arvada, Co 80004
Contact:

Re: Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by kc8gpd » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:34 am

found out it can't, i need a firmware update to work with shoutcast which is
NLA from telos.

Telos no longer has the hardware to burn firmware proms.

not sure what this box is good for in that case.
kc8gpd

"The scientists of today think deeply instead of clearly. One must be sane to think clearly, but one can think deeply and be quite insane."

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 543
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by KPJL FM » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:40 am

There are plenty of software solutions. If you use a Win computer, install Icecast2 and BUTT. You can even add metadata like Artist and Title info to the stream. All free, uses standard soundcard/chipset input. Check out my stream, it's running on an old XP computer:
http://98.144.132.140:6262/ss32
Use VLC to see the metadata.
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

kc8gpd
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 10:32 am
Location: Arvada, Co 80004
Contact:

Re: Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by kc8gpd » Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:17 pm

i used to be big on software solutions for processing and streaming but, not so much anymore. i have found them to be somewhat unstable. i like hardware based DSP and analog solutions.

i am looking at the newer telos streamers. they run about $1700.00 MSRP @ BSW and handle shoutcast / icecast

I just bought the telos to tinker with as it was only $50.00
kc8gpd

"The scientists of today think deeply instead of clearly. One must be sane to think clearly, but one can think deeply and be quite insane."

lewiscallaway
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by lewiscallaway » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:01 pm

I built an encoder with a Raspberry Pi and USB soundcard. After tweaking the settings, it has been very stable and worked well. We used Edcast on Windows 10, but we had to do a reboot frequently.

I think you can use a barix to stream to Icecast/Shoutcast....

RodeoJack
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 12:54 pm
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Contact:

Re: Telos AA Encoder w/Shoucast, Possible?

Post by RodeoJack » Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:50 pm

Most of my client stations use Barix Instreamers. They're compatible with Shoutcast/Icecast, are fully hardware and aren't all that expensive. They can also stream to more than one server, so long as you set them up with the same password.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest