can a am station move

AM Radio discussion. Directional arrays are FUN!
Post Reply
jodyritchie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:25 am
Contact:

can a am station move

Post by jodyritchie »

My question is can a am radio station move its license to another city.If the city it is wanting to leave has other full power stations in it?

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3513
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: can a am station move

Post by Deep Thought »

You can change the community of license of an AM (or FM) station as a minor change as long as you meet the requirements of 47 CFR 73.3571. Basically, the new technical facility must be mutually-exclusive with the licensed facility (they interfere with each other on paper) and you are not taking the sole aural service from the soon-to-be-ex-community of license. You also have to meet the current allocation rules at the new location. There are other requirements concerning eligibility of the new community but that is not what you asked. Nothing you posted would prohibit the move but you'll have to be more specific to get a definite answer. If you don't want to post that in public send it to me in a PM.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

jodyritchie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:25 am
Contact:

Re: can a am station move

Post by jodyritchie »

Moderator Note:

Deep Though has been answering your questions via PM. Please keep it there. Thanks!

ai4i
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:49 pm
Location: Area Code 305, 754, 786 & 954

Re: can a am station move

Post by ai4i »

Deep Thought wrote:Basically, the new technical facility must be mutually-exclusive with the licensed facility (they interfere with each other on paper)
I certainly hope that does not include skywave.
Nah, they must mean both day and night.
_______________________________________
Ai4i is always on the trailing edge of technology

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3513
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: can a am station move

Post by Deep Thought »

ai4i wrote:Nah, they must mean both day and night.
The daytime groundwave contours are used.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

ChuckG
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: can a am station move

Post by ChuckG »

If it's an existing station that is not forced to move, is that "ratchet-down clause" still in effect?
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3513
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: can a am station move

Post by Deep Thought »

Yes it is, and even a forced move will run into it most times.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

Post Reply