In the Main studio, in the cabnet

AM Radio discussion. Directional arrays are FUN!
Post Reply
User avatar
abwdvm
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Tx
Contact:

In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by abwdvm »

http://www.ksstradio.com/wp-content/upl ... C_0914.jpg

The box on the left I am told is part of the Cue system? Does this look correct, and what if anything do I do with it?

The pair of grey transformers send audio to our streaming computer... Is that correct as well?
technician at an 1000w AM station in Texas
User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3555
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by Deep Thought »

That looks like it is something built on-site using a commercial amplifier so yeah it could be the cue amplifier, but without a lot more information it is near impossible to answer your question.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com
TPT
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by TPT »

Looks like an old Radio Shack amplifier--minus the case. Appears the audio feed bypasses a stage.
User avatar
Bill DeFelice
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:29 pm
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Contact:

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by Bill DeFelice »

I had one station using cheapy, low power Rat Shack stereos (the tiny ones with the fake woodgrain) as line amplifiers. Seeing that photo takes me back to that nightmare!
Webmaster
History of Westport Connecticut Radio
The WMMM Tribute Site

CampusBroadcaster.net
Legal, low power, license-free broadcasting for educational institutions
User avatar
abwdvm
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Tx
Contact:

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by abwdvm »

what would be be better choice if you were forced to replace/upgrade?
technician at an 1000w AM station in Texas
ChuckG
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by ChuckG »

abwdvm wrote:what would be be better choice if you were forced to replace/upgrade?
If you are on a budget the RDL line amplifiers work quite well, but I'm pretty much guessing as to the function of the box....
I agree it looks like one of the RS amplifers with the plastic cabinet removed.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin
www.northwoodstech.com
grich
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by grich »

As for the transformers, I have used similar transformers to interface with a computer and it's just fine, as long as the level isn't too hot for the computer sound card.
User avatar
abwdvm
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:32 pm
Location: Tx
Contact:

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by abwdvm »

TPT wrote:Looks like an old Radio Shack amplifier--minus the case. Appears the audio feed bypasses a stage.

Yes, a model SA-10

http://www.ksstradio.com/wp-content/upl ... 07/amp.jpg
technician at an 1000w AM station in Texas
TPT
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: In the Main studio, in the cabnet

Post by TPT »

You can get a new Pyle amplifier for not much more--around $40. I use one for checking EAS monitoring sources. Try Amazon.
Post Reply