AM Tuning Unit Design Software

AM Radio discussion. Directional arrays are FUN!
Post Reply
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by kkiddkkidd » Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:22 pm

Hi all,

I have a number of free & cheap pieces of software that includes Tee-net design. However, it appears that a couple of my favorites don't run (or don't run correctly) in Win10 and I am about to have to move to Win10 on a new Toughbook AND have 3 or 4 small tuning projects coming up quickly.

What are you using that runs in Win10? Free or cheap is good but paid is OK as long as it is reasonable.

Later,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

grich
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by grich » Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:19 pm

I don't think I have in my possession a freeware Windows-based ATU tool...they're all DOS-based, which I operate within DOSBOX.

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3382
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by Deep Thought » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:11 pm

What version of Windows are you moving from? If they ran in 7 they should run in 10. There are some real old programs that are actually 32 bit but have 16 bit installers which prevent them from being installed on any x64 flavor of Windows. There is a workaround, though.

If you've got old DOS stuff, DOSBox is the way to go. Also consider VirtualBox, but that'll require you to set up a 32 bit Windows VM which can be a bit daunting if you don't have the license key handy.

I usually use Westberg's stuff but that is neither free nor cheap. :mrgreen:

If all you're looking for is network calculations, this works very nicely. Freq. is in Hz and having to convert nH to uH is kinda annoying but hey, it's free!
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by Dale H. Cook » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:28 am

To follow up on the previous two posts, I still use RFS in DOSBox on a Win7 Pro 64 bit system. It has been my preferred tool for T network calculations for many years because it allows specification of phase shift for cusp rotation. The only missing feature is that it does not allow entry of existing values to calculate phase shift when creating a Smith chart of an existing ATU. That said, it will save values from one iteration to the next, allowing the user to try different phase shifts when other factors are known.

While on the subject, I have a printout of a T network design from about twenty years ago created with a program apparently called "acnet15.bas" - is anyone familiar with that BASIC program?
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

COMMENG
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:30 pm
Location: Midwest

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by COMMENG » Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:35 pm

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:22 pm
Hi all,

I have a number of free & cheap pieces of software that includes Tee-net design. However, it appears that a couple of my favorites don't run (or don't run correctly) in Win10 and I am about to have to move to Win10 on a new Toughbook AND have 3 or 4 small tuning projects coming up quickly.

What are you using that runs in Win10? Free or cheap is good but paid is OK as long as it is reasonable.

Later,
I code all of the my Network equations into MatLab, so I don't have to worry about OS versions.


COMMENG

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by kkiddkkidd » Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:53 pm

Deep Thought wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:11 pm
What version of Windows are you moving from? If they ran in 7 they should run in 10. There are some real old programs that are actually 32 bit but have 16 bit installers which prevent them from being installed on any x64 flavor of Windows. There is a workaround, though.

If you've got old DOS stuff, DOSBox is the way to go. Also consider VirtualBox, but that'll require you to set up a 32 bit Windows VM which can be a bit daunting if you don't have the license key handy.

I usually use Westberg's stuff but that is neither free nor cheap. :mrgreen:

If all you're looking for is network calculations, this works very nicely. Freq. is in Hz and having to convert nH to uH is kinda annoying but hey, it's free!
Win7Pro. I have Grant Binghams network design and it refuses to run on "some" installations of Win7 (32 or 64) and any install that I have tried it on Win10.

What I have had happen with a few of my favorites is that the program runs but returns errors as if a math module (or something) were missing but no indication of what that might be.

I have used the jwmatcher but as you noted, I have to do too much math in my head to be safe...
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3382
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by Deep Thought » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:26 pm

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:53 pm
Win7Pro. I have Grant Binghams network design and it refuses to run on "some" installations of Win7 (32 or 64) and any install that I have tried it on Win10.
Interesting. My copy runs in Windows 10 x64 without much whining about it.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by kkiddkkidd » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:45 pm

Deep Thought wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:26 pm
kkiddkkidd wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:53 pm
Win7Pro. I have Grant Binghams network design and it refuses to run on "some" installations of Win7 (32 or 64) and any install that I have tried it on Win10.
Interesting. My copy runs in Windows 10 x64 without much whining about it.
I had a friend with more M$ certs than he can name look at it and he came to the conclusion that it was another installed program that was keeping it from running but finding out which one would probably require a full wipe and reinstall. It ain't worth that...

The fan has died on my trusty Toughbook CF-53 and I have just ordered a CF-54 with Win10. Maybe it will run Dr Bingo's stuff.

Regards,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Bill DeFelice
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:29 pm
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Contact:

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by Bill DeFelice » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:49 am

I don't know why it took me this long to think about it, but how about loading Win7 or something older in a virtual machine using VirtualBox? I do that when I need software that doesn't run natively under Win10.
Webmaster
History of Westport Connecticut Radio
The WMMM Tribute Site

CampusBroadcaster.net
Legal, low power, license-free broadcasting for educational institutions

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: AM Tuning Unit Design Software

Post by kkiddkkidd » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:00 am

Bill DeFelice wrote:
Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:49 am
I don't know why it took me this long to think about it, but how about loading Win7 or something older in a virtual machine using VirtualBox? I do that when I need software that doesn't run natively under Win10.
That may be the answer if it doesn't run on the new laptop.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

Post Reply