Disabling Windows Features Updates

Want to know how something works? Harness the power of the Brainiacs!
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by NECRAT »

Does anyone have an actual way to disable the windows 10 "features" updates? I've disabled the group policy, deleted the contents of the download folder that they supposedly download to. Google has been less than helpful, giving me results from 2015 first that aren't even applicable to this version of windows.

And no, Linux or older versions of Windows are not applicable here, so that thought can be saved for somewhere else.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer/Tower Photographer
Boston area.
https://www.necrat.us, https://www.scan-ne.net/

"If you don’t think you’re good, nobody else will" - Tom Laun (RIP)."
User avatar
davek
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by davek »

What is the purpose for wanting to turn off feature updates? It can be done, but eventually you'll end up with a version of Windows that will stop receiving updates as older versions of Windows 10 are retired. The better solution would be to use Windows 10 LTSC. It does not receive any feature updates, but will continue to receive security updates for a long time. It is also bereft of lots of other Windows 10 junk (like Windows Store, Candy Crush etc..)
spareparts
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by spareparts »

Is this a general purpose PC, or a dedicated appliance that only runs a single app?
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by NECRAT »

spareparts wrote: Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:11 am Is this a general purpose PC, or a dedicated appliance that only runs a single app?
Halfway between. It's only purpose is to monitor a webpage, but occasionally I need to run Burk Autoload on it.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer/Tower Photographer
Boston area.
https://www.necrat.us, https://www.scan-ne.net/

"If you don’t think you’re good, nobody else will" - Tom Laun (RIP)."
spareparts
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:02 pm

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by spareparts »

Not sure if it's a good fit, however I had a local IT guy build the appliances with Windows 10 IoT Enterprise. Box only runs a single app, and does not have any of the desktop dreck and applications.
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 973
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by kkiddkkidd »

I am finding this LTSC option intriguing... Will automation systems work on it? Does it work the same as Win10Pro without all the fluff?

Not having disruptive updates for stuff that doesn't need updating is attractive...

Regards,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3565
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by Deep Thought »

It is essentially a "frozen" version of W10Pro/Enterprise which does not receive feature updates. That means (for example) if you have the "2018" version installed the only things which will run on it in the future are programs and hardware which ran on that version. If they require an updated API or some new driver interface from the 2020 version (say, for a new sound card) then you'll have to update it. This is almost never a problem with automation where it is the updates which usually break things.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com
NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by NECRAT »

The good thing is, I figured out how to stop the notification, which is 90% of the battle.

It may still download the updates but the reminders should end now.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer/Tower Photographer
Boston area.
https://www.necrat.us, https://www.scan-ne.net/

"If you don’t think you’re good, nobody else will" - Tom Laun (RIP)."
TPT
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by TPT »

Side note on this discussion. We needed another editing workstation. We purchased a "refurbished" Dell because this particular tower model still had an IDE slot--so we could use an older but still good ASI soundcard.

Went around and around trying to activate the new copy of Windows 10. Finally discovered that it had to run all the updates before it would accept the activation key.
Nathaniel Steele
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:02 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by Nathaniel Steele »

TPT wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:01 am Side note on this discussion. We needed another editing workstation. We purchased a "refurbished" Dell because this particular tower model still had an IDE slot--so we could use an older but still good ASI soundcard.

Went around and around trying to activate the new copy of Windows 10. Finally discovered that it had to run all the updates before it would accept the activation key.
I purchase a lot of refurbished Dells. I am always suspect of any computer that comes in from outside and always reisntall the OS Imeadiatly. Dell has an official tool for this, But it never seems to work, so I reinstall from an ISO "burned" to a bootable flash drive. I have on occasion had trouble with activation. Since I use an autounattend.xml file to do a silent install, it uses a temporary activation key. Usually it will find the OEM key stored in the bios and work just fine. but I had a few where I had to use a keyfinder utility to pull the oem key and manually change the key to get them to activate.



On an aside, at home I have a studio computer I use for my home recording studio. 2 years ago when I built it, I did something to disable the feature updates. I Now want to update it and can not get it to install, I've tried everything from the update assistant to the media creation tool. they will appear to be working fine then like an hour or two later when it's time for the final reboot, it comes back up on the same old version with an error.

Googling the error suggested deleting some files here and there, which resulted in, the exact same problem....so I'm likely going to have to do a fresh install. this wouldn't really be a problem on an automation computer.

also in regards to windows 10 ltsc, apparently you can not install office 365 on it....MS really doesn't want you to use it....
User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3565
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by Deep Thought »

Nathaniel Steele wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:57 am also in regards to windows 10 ltsc, apparently you can not install office 365 on it....MS really doesn't want you to use it....
That is because LTSC is intended for "kiosk" type installations running software which does not need to be updated, not office desktops.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com
Nathaniel Steele
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:02 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by Nathaniel Steele »

Deep Thought wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:28 am
Nathaniel Steele wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:57 am also in regards to windows 10 ltsc, apparently you can not install office 365 on it....MS really doesn't want you to use it....
That is because LTSC is intended for "kiosk" type installations running software which does not need to be updated, not office desktops.
Right. And Pro is intended for playing candy crush and checking facebook.....


:D
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 973
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by kkiddkkidd »

Nathaniel Steele wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:57 pm
Right. And Pro is intended for playing candy crush and checking facebook.....


:D
Now that's funny right there... And all too common.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
User avatar
radiowave911
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: Middletown, PA
Contact:

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by radiowave911 »

kkiddkkidd wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 6:07 pm
Nathaniel Steele wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:57 pm
Right. And Pro is intended for playing candy crush and checking facebook.....


:D
Now that's funny right there... And all too common.
Funny because it's true! :lol: :lol:

By the way, with regards to activating on a machine with a digital license, I have had great luck with making certain the machine is on a straight internet connection (like you would have at home, not in a corporate environment). If activation still fails, I choose to troubleshoot activation. Every time I have done that, the troubleshooter closes with 'Windows has been activated with a digital license'. This is all Windows 10 Pro, your mileage may vary with other versions such as LTS, IoT, etc.
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

http://www.wmssfm.com
http://www.sbe41.org
dbuckley
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:18 pm
Location: North Canterbury, New Zealand

Re: Disabling Windows Features Updates

Post by dbuckley »

The only official answer is the LTSC branch, but only if you are an enterprise customer.

You need to get your head around the concept that Windows at a retail level is not an operating system as one used to purchase, but a service that operates as Microsoft likes it to operate, and thus updates are a fact of life, and any way that you might think that they can be avoided is, at best, a temporary, and unsafe reprieve, and Microsoft tries quite hard to make sure they will come back, so you need to learn to not just live with them, but embrace them.

One possible alternative to add to the list of unacceptable solutions is Reactos, an Xp clone, which runs some Windows applications "well enough".
Post Reply