Nautel RDS

FM does it with frequency!
mbrockm
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Shenandoah, Iowa

Nautel RDS

Post by mbrockm » Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:12 am

Is anyone using the RDS built into the Nautel NV series? I have asked to check into using RDS for Game scores. Have not worked with the built unit enough to now how user friendly it would be to have a "user" input information into RDS?
Mark
Mark Brockmeyer
KMA Engineering

PA_TUNE
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:58 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by PA_TUNE » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:11 pm

Get yourself a copy of TRE with Message Manager from Broadcast Electronics. It's quite reasonably priced.

http://www.bdcast.com/products/studio-p ... experience

User avatar
BroadcastDoc
Site Admin
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by BroadcastDoc » Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:05 pm

I haven't yet figured out how to get TRE to talk to a Nautel though. The RDS feature isn't very well documented.
Christopher "Doc" Tarr CSRE, DRB, AMD, CBNE
Help support the Virtual Engineer, use our 1&1 Affiliate link if you need good, cheap hosting.
Virtual Engineer. The Broadcast Engineering discussion forum

PA_TUNE
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:58 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by PA_TUNE » Thu Aug 07, 2014 11:29 am

BroadcastDoc wrote:I haven't yet figured out how to get TRE to talk to a Nautel though. The RDS feature isn't very well documented.
You are correct, Doc.... not well documented at all, and I haven't tried to make it work with TRE either, but I have plans to in the next few months. However, the documentation that does exist says it supports UECP over TCP or serial, so it shouldn't be hard to make it work with TRE.

User avatar
BroadcastDoc
Site Admin
Posts: 2733
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:34 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by BroadcastDoc » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:32 pm

I did figure it out with TRE.

Program in your messages in "genmsg.txt", then program your tre.cfg this way:

1. Under the "RDS" sub menu, click "Add TCP..."
2. Enter the IP address assigned to your Nautel, and use port 7005
3. Check "Use UECP"

Then, in the Nautel AUI, go to the Preset menu and click on the "RDS" tab.

1. Enable RDS
2. Program in your PI Code and select your PTY
3. Under "Data Source", select "UECP over IP"
4. Start TRE
5. Drink beer and wait for people to tell you how awesome you are!
Christopher "Doc" Tarr CSRE, DRB, AMD, CBNE
Help support the Virtual Engineer, use our 1&1 Affiliate link if you need good, cheap hosting.
Virtual Engineer. The Broadcast Engineering discussion forum

grich
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by grich » Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:25 am

You're so awesome! :D

PA_TUNE
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:58 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by PA_TUNE » Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:39 pm

BroadcastDoc wrote: Program in your messages in "genmsg.txt", then program your tre.cfg this way:
Or buy the TRE message manager and enter your messages on rbds.net.

Nice work Doc!

User avatar
RFWarrior
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:48 am
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Contact:

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by RFWarrior » Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:57 pm

I may have to borrow those instructions, Doc - because I'll be the first to agree that the AUI docs, especially with respect to RBDS, are somewhat lacking (okay, I understate :D ). It's been brought up and it's a work in progress - hopefully there will be improvements in the not too terribly distant future!
Jeff Welton, CBRE
Regional Sales Manager - Central U.S.
Nautel
Toll free: 1-877-662-8835, ext. 5127
Halifax Number: 902-823-5127
Quincy Number: 217-919-0189
Cell: 902-489-1635
jwelton@nautel.com

tophfro
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by tophfro » Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:01 pm

Hey Jeff, Any update on those RDS doc improvements? I have 9 Nautel TXs that I need to interface to and so far all i can do is send RT and 8 Character PS strings. I was told by someone in support that it was a subset install of the Inovonics package. Is this correct?

TRE isn't an option for us as we're in the process of disposing of everything BE, including AudioVault and Transmitters... BTW anyone interested in a BE FM20C?

grich
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by grich » Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:16 am

tophfro wrote:...we're in the process of disposing of everything BE, including AudioVault and Transmitters... BTW anyone interested in a BE FM20C?
No, but do you have a AM-1A? I might be interested in that!

bill981
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Southeast USA

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by bill981 » Sat Jan 09, 2016 4:45 pm

tophfro wrote:including AudioVault
Tell me about the AudioVault.

PA_TUNE
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:58 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by PA_TUNE » Mon Jan 11, 2016 7:29 am

tophfro wrote:
TRE isn't an option for us as we're in the process of disposing of everything BE, including AudioVault and Transmitters... BTW anyone interested in a BE FM20C?
It's just a tiny piece of software that runs on any old junk PC. There's a company-wide ban on any BE products??

lewiscallaway
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by lewiscallaway » Tue Jan 12, 2016 8:41 am

We use the RDS built into our Nautel Transmitter, but it is really hard to update, and is limited to only seven characters - that can't scroll. We ended up resorting to just having our call sign which I guess is better than nothing. I'd use something external.

bill981
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Southeast USA

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by bill981 » Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:07 am

I meant how many AV units, what version of software, etc. I'm running AVFleX here but would like to have an off-site machine or two for backup.

User avatar
RFWarrior
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:48 am
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Contact:

Re: Nautel RDS

Post by RFWarrior » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:28 pm

tophfro wrote:Hey Jeff, Any update on those RDS doc improvements? I have 9 Nautel TXs that I need to interface to and so far all i can do is send RT and 8 Character PS strings. I was told by someone in support that it was a subset install of the Inovonics package. Is this correct?
Depends on the transmitter version - NVLT and GV series will now support 64 char scrolling dynamic strings, VS doesn't yet, it's still limited to 8 char, but should be coming soon. I was hoping to see it by end of 2015, but the software development guys have been running their legs (fingers?) off with other projects, as well.

No update to the manuals yet, but that has been (finally) given some priority, so I'd hope to see those soon, as well.

Best,
Jeff
Jeff Welton, CBRE
Regional Sales Manager - Central U.S.
Nautel
Toll free: 1-877-662-8835, ext. 5127
Halifax Number: 902-823-5127
Quincy Number: 217-919-0189
Cell: 902-489-1635
jwelton@nautel.com

Post Reply