Page 1 of 1

Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:32 pm
by Nathaniel Steele
So I got tired of looking at this unused Omnia in the back room and decided to check it out. I was told it went out in a lightning hit, but the person that told me that probably wasn't actually around and was just passing on info that he got, or what he could remember.....

Anyway, I took it all apart and nothing looked burned, fuses ok. Unplugged PS from motherboard and plugged it in turned it on....no smoke. plugged back into MB, switched on and it comes to life.....but I get a message that it's trying to load the os, then a message that there is no OS on the card.....

So It has a card and it says Omnia FM HOT v1.7 or something like that...anyone know where I can get the OS to put on the card? I knowits an old box but I figured it would be good on a translator.....be a shame for good hardware to go to waste. The lcd has some lines in it so it may need replced too but I'll tackle that if i can get it to boot. I've got an email in to telos too, but maybe someone has an old one on the shelf they can copy?

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:09 pm
by TPT
Here's a picture picked up off the internet:

http://www.dtsbroadcast.com/1172/45/ex- ... etail.html

I had two Omnias similar to this, vintage 2000. Came with a station I purchased. When they worked they sounded good. However, both developed memory problems--they would forget what they were supposed to do! Could cure the problem temporarily by rebooting, tried replacing filters, but eventually gave up and sold them.

Omnia may be able to supply an OS--ran off a card inserted into the slot in back.

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:00 pm
by Deep Thought
All the Telos kids are in Las Vegas at the NAB show right now so don't expect a quick reply.

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:27 am
by RGORJANCE
Ahhhh, yessss-------I remember the NAB. Sore back, sore feet, hardly a chance to get lunch. 16 hour days. Actually, it was a bit of fun in spite of the pain.

Fossil

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:37 am
by KPJL FM
Typical problem I had with an Omnia 6esi (?) Card lost everything every 2 months or so.
Finally replaced it with something else.

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:36 am
by Nathaniel Steele
I got a reply later that day. I was told they could try to reflash the card if I sent it in and paid return shipping, and if the card was no good They could replace it for $45. That seems reasonable enough to me so the card is in the mail. Also looks like I may have found an LCD that will work for 50 bucks on ebay, but I'm going to hold off on that Till I get the card back and can do more testing. I'll report back here whether I have any success or not...

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:25 pm
by Nathaniel Steele
Unit seems to work with the new os flashed on the card. screen needs replaced though it's workable.

Anyone know if I can just clone the card incase it corrupts again? seems to be a common issue from what I hear....

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:05 am
by KPJL FM
If you have a pc with a card reader, you could try windiskimager32 or something like that to make an image. Or maybe Macrium Reflect.
I never tried tho.

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:17 am
by kkiddkkidd
I have no experience on home brewing something like this but recall seeing in other "card-as-HD" equipment that to boot from a card, the card has to be formatted or somehow setup as bootable and IIRC something else done to change or maybe create a boot sector.

Sorry but I don't recall exactly what was required and may not even apply in your unit. Be sure to try it before the factory card craps out again.

Regards,

Re: Omnia FM HOT OS

Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 2:13 pm
by TvRadioGuy
You can try the folks at Broadcast Depot in Miami. They are Omina Factory Repair. Plus they have someone their that is an omnia specialist, if they can't do it they can send it off to omnia. They may can help you.