Optimod 2300 Tally Output to Sine RFC-1/B

FM does it with frequency!
nickfish03

Optimod 2300 Tally Output to Sine RFC-1/B

Post by nickfish03 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:47 am

Hello all, I'm new to the broadcast engineering field (and engineering in general). I installed a Optimod 2300 at our transmitter site this year, and recently hooked up two remote inputs so our Sine RFC-1/B remote control relays could switch the Optimod between Analog and Digital inputs.

Now, I'm hoping to take the two tally outputs on the Optimod to feed the telemetry inputs on the Sine remote for silence detection and input status.

I'm having some trouble understanding how to hook everything up. Am I correct in understanding the Optimod controls the Base of the Tally Output transistor and the Collector is already connected to Ground, and the physical tally pin is the Emitter? So according to the Sine Telemetry limitations, I either need to supply one to four volts DC, or use the Optimod's +12V pin, and reduce voltage before connecting to the Sine Telemetry connection?

Here's the information I have from the Optimod manual:
"In stereo encoder mode, the 2300 supports two hardware tally outputs, which are NPN open-collector and operate with respect to pin 1 (common). Therefore, the voltage applied to the load (such as a relay or opto-isolator) must be positive. You can use the 12 VDC source on pin 25 to drive the high side of the load, taking into account the fact that the voltage on pin 25 is current limited by a 310 Ω resistor."

From the Sine manual:
Telemetry samples should conform to the following rules:
• for a full scale voltage reading 1.0 volt DC is necessary
• telemetry samples over 4 volts DC should be dropped with an attenuator

DaveSt

Re: Optimod 2300 Tally Output to Sine RFC-1/B

Post by DaveSt » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:17 am