Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post Reply
musiconradio.com
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post by musiconradio.com »

I'm looking for a simple audio switcher where I can do a remote VNC and switch from Source one or Source 2 (Three inputs would be better). No relays, nothing fancy. I want to be able to switch myself. Something with a GUI?
TPT
Posts: 1017
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post by TPT »

Not quite clear as to what you are looking for. I use the Broadcast Tools switchers which can switch either two or four stereo sources to one output (two different models). Can be remoted.
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 973
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post by kkiddkkidd »

TPT wrote: Sat Aug 29, 2020 4:50 pm Not quite clear as to what you are looking for. I use the Broadcast Tools switchers which can switch either two or four stereo sources to one output (two different models). Can be remoted.
What TPT said... Adding an old computer with BT's serial NetSwitch utility and TeamViewer or VNC gets what you want. Or if you don't want to use a computer, adding a hardwired WebRelay with a sufficient number of relay outputs will give a web server with a simple one click interface.

OR, if you have a direct network connection, there is software AND devices available to send serial data via IP directly from a remote computer to a BT switcher. Note that some BT switchers have bi-directional audio paths and some are not. IE a 2.1 2in - 1out switcher can also be a 1in - 2out if it is one of their simple relay units without any buffering electronics between the I/O (Like an 8.2 or 16.4).

Or, a 4PDT latching relay controlled by a WebRelay will do the same thing if you are a tinkererer.

Good luck,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 958
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post by Dale H. Cook »

I was about to make a suggestion but Kevin beat me to the gist of it. I have done this with a BT switcher and an old computer with a serial port or a serial to USB converter. That is likely your cheapest option as any hardware with a built-in GUI would probably not be inexpensive.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html
musiconradio.com
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Re: Simple audio swithcer for two sources

Post by musiconradio.com »

Thanks everyone. I think a broadcast tools switcher will do.
Post Reply