4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

It's just radio with pictures! :)
Post Reply
w9wi
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Pleasant View, Tennessee
Contact:

4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by w9wi » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:00 pm

Trying to send two 4K MVP outputs to two different control rooms. (total of four 4K monitors, two in each CR) I've tried three different HDMI splitters that claim to support 4K/60Hz but none work. (all the lights light up to indicate there's a cable there, but there's no video)

They do need to drive two 15-meter HDMI cables.

Anyone out there who's successfully split HDMI at 4K? I can make it work with fiber but REALLY don't want to spend $1,800....
--
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

rftranstv
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:13 am

Re: 4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by rftranstv » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:57 pm

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... ifier.html

This one not work? Got good reviews

User avatar
davek
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: 4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by davek » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:23 am

w9wi wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:00 pm
Trying to send two 4K MVP outputs to two different control rooms. (total of four 4K monitors, two in each CR) I've tried three different HDMI splitters that claim to support 4K/60Hz but none work. (all the lights light up to indicate there's a cable there, but there's no video)

They do need to drive two 15-meter HDMI cables.

Anyone out there who's successfully split HDMI at 4K? I can make it work with fiber but REALLY don't want to spend $1,800....
I'm guessing you've tried shorter HDMI cables to eliminate that as a potential issue?

User avatar
PID_Stop
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Syracuse, New York
Contact:

Re: 4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by PID_Stop » Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:22 am

Another possibility: is the DA not passing HDCP handshaking? That will cause lights to come on, but video won't display.

Jeff

Kelly
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:32 pm
Location: Washington D.C. Area

Re: 4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by Kelly » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:10 pm

I echo what Jeff mentioned. That, and unless you're running cables that support HDMI 2.0, 50 feet may be pushing the length. Most HDMI DA's don't do any level boost, so if your input cable to the DA is causing any attenuation, that level is passed along on the output spigots. My bet is you'll probably have to run fiber.
Skype:kellyalford Twitter: @KellyAlford

w9wi
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Pleasant View, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: 4K/60Hz HDMI DA that works?

Post by w9wi » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:07 pm

We ended up resolving the issue by running SDI. Our guy thought the SDI outputs didn't scale the parallel 4K outputs -- that we'd only see a quarter of the display. Turned out he was wrong -- the SDI outputs are properly scaled 1080p and we had some SDI-to-HDMI adapters that handle 1080p just fine. It's not 4K but that's OK for the second control room.

We had the DAs directly at the source -- there was less than a meter of HDMI cable between the source and the DAs.
--
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

Post Reply