Harmonic encoders

More channels means more money for the techs, right?
Post Reply
coremans
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:36 am

Harmonic encoders

Post by coremans »

Does anyone have good knowledge of the Harmonic encoders Vibe CP6000 and Electra 9200 ?
I have IP out models but would like to add an ASI option to it, however Harmonic support is awfull and they no longer give me information on which part I should be looking for. So if someone can advise me on that.... very Welcome.

NECRAT
Site Admin
Posts: 3203
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by NECRAT »

So the ASI output is a factory added part to the unit. Support isn't going to help you much, you're going to have to go through Sales.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer/Tower Photographer
Boston area.
https://www.necrat.us, https://www.scan-ne.net/

"If you don’t think you’re good, nobody else will" - Tom Laun (RIP)."

User avatar
carver
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 3:00 pm
Location: Nauru
Contact:

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by carver »

2coremans
Do you mean to add a hardware board from ebay, or software option key ?
/carv

coremans
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:36 am

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by coremans »

The Electra 9200 and CP6000 don't have ASI output, we have the IP board on it. So an ASI board is optional, but no idea which one to look for as Harmonic support doesn't want to help and their sales dept don't provide them anymore. So an Ebay option was the idea.

Another problem is that they don't even provide the latest firmware for my devices anymore and as I have no access to their FTP site these units become worthless because the lack of support. If anyone has access to eg Harmonic ELC9200 firmware, please let me know.

User avatar
carver
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 3:00 pm
Location: Nauru
Contact:

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by carver »

judging by google and the documentation,
Harmonic has universal boards.

as I understand, you can use HPC-IOM-ASI-0001,
for example pulling it out from Prostream

On ebay there start from $274 with offer. 124078151716

I remember that harmonic closed FTP,
but for some manufacturers, sometimes you can contact by email.
for sw or manual.

I have an old NMX, from 2018.
it contains manual and firmware for some Harmonic models too.
/carv

AI-SAT
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:24 am

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by AI-SAT »

@carver
The harmonics encoders you mentioned are end of life models and Harmonics will not provide any hardware or software upgrades on these units.
We do stock a lot of Refurbished Harmonics and has lot of parts like ASI cards , IP cards, AIC dual stereo audio card, AHC/RAC multichannel audio cards in stock. For future queries, feel free to contact us.
Best regards,

www.ai-sat.com

User avatar
PID_Stop
Posts: 681
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Syracuse, New York
Contact:

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by PID_Stop »

Our 9240s are four years old next month, and they're already end of life? :x

Jeff

AI-SAT
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:24 am

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by AI-SAT »

Hi jeff,
i am afraid yes.
We just sold 4 of our 9240 @ 450 Euro each because Harmonics denied to provide any support or upgrade on these units.

kapil

User avatar
carver
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 3:00 pm
Location: Nauru
Contact:

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by carver »

thanks for the info,

of course I can use google,
so I heard about you for a long time,

but now I can agree, you have a much more interesting price on an ASI board than on ebay.
I'm already ashamed that I wrote ebay earlier and not your resource. google guilt )))

I don’t know how to contact you better,
so I sent you PM, for contacts exchange.

thanks.
AI-SAT wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 8:37 am
@carver
The harmonics encoders you mentioned are end of life models and Harmonics will not provide any hardware or software upgrades on these units.
/carv

AI-SAT
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 5:24 am

Re: Harmonic encoders

Post by AI-SAT »

@carver
Hi,
Thank you for your reply!
you can always contact us through our website www.ai-sat.com
or email us at sales@ai-sat.com

Best regards,
Kapil

Post Reply