Getting Through Windows Firewall

A place to discuss Webcasting
Post Reply
User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Dale H. Cook » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:25 am

I have a customer with a secondary transmitter site out of listening range, and I want to set up a private WME stream so staff can dial in and hear how the off-air audio sounds. My problem is configuring Windows Firewall (under Win7) to allow inbound access to the pull the stream. I've never worked with Windows Firewall before as my computers and those for past clients have all used other security software and hardware. Can anyone offer suggestions?
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3338
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Deep Thought » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:44 pm

I don't have anything running Win7 handy to check this on but I am fairly sure the firewall interface is the same on 10. Open Windows Defender settings, go to "Advanced Settings" and you should get something similar to the screen below. There you can create a new rule (right-click on "Inbound Rules") for a port or application, and there are some predefined rules for Windows Media Player, etc...
Attachments
5a48db59.jpg
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3338
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Deep Thought » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:47 pm

If the computer isn't doing anything critical then you might consider just configuring it for remote desktop and have the audio diverted to the client computer...that way there isn't any special config for whatever you are listening on.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
Bill DeFelice
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:29 pm
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Bill DeFelice » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:07 pm

@Dale: Make sure you have an appropriate rule set in the router if NAT is in place. I had to play around with this when setting up a private confidence monitor for a station PD and engineer to share.
Webmaster
History of Westport Connecticut Radio
The WMMM Tribute Site

CampusBroadcaster.net
Legal, low power, license-free broadcasting for educational institutions

w9wi
Posts: 884
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Pleasant View, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by w9wi » Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:19 pm

Deep Thought wrote:
Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:47 pm
If the computer isn't doing anything critical then you might consider just configuring it for remote desktop and have the audio diverted to the client computer...that way there isn't any special config for whatever you are listening on.
I did this during the eclipse.

Had a SDR connected to the PC at home; remoted into it with my laptop at work. Mostly just to be certain the SDR was making spectrum recordings, but it *did* provide full quality audio.

As Bill says, you need to make sure your router will properly NAT the PC.
--
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Dale H. Cook » Sun Apr 22, 2018 3:14 pm

adca wrote:
Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:10 am
this is a very interesting topic
And it isn't done yet. The problem is not in the Windows firewall or anywhere else in hardware/firmware that I have control over. This site uses a Comcast cable modem which includes a wireless router. Users do not have access to the router settings so I need to call Comcast and see if they will give me that access or at least set up a NAT for us.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3338
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Deep Thought » Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:12 am

All of the Comcast equipment I've seen is easily set up for NAT by the user. What is the issue with this one?
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by Dale H. Cook » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:28 am

Deep Thought wrote:
Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:12 am
What is the issue with this one?
There is no admin login or password on the label, no documentation in the transmitter building for this modem, and the usual suspects don't work with this Xfinity modem.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

User avatar
KPJL FM
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: planet Earth, 3rd rock from sun

Re: Getting Through Windows Firewall

Post by KPJL FM » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:18 am

I have an SMC cable modem, I looked up the default settings on the web, then pushed the little button on the back. I changed the password, and now I have access to the NAT configs anytime I want.
Trim to fit, paint to match, tune for minimum smoke.

Post Reply