HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

FM does it with frequency!
Post Reply
apache45
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:50 am

HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by apache45 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:27 am

I have one of the original Harris Digit (not CD) exciters that will not put out any more than one watt. I have rebuilt the A-2 power supply section and all 4 voltages are correct. The APC voltage is also within tolerance. The manual troubleshooting chart suggest "debugging" U-8, U-3, U-7 in the A-2. What exactly is meant by "debugging"? And yes, the PA-amp fuse is good as well. Any suggestions? Thanks gang.

User avatar
RGORJANCE
Posts: 1480
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:48 am
Location: RACINE, WI

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by RGORJANCE » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:47 am

Not specifically knowledgeable on the Digit.....I think a bit more info would be helpful.

Is the exciter showing any serious VSWR? I assume you are hooking it up into a good dummy load with wattmeter.

I experienced two problems with an MX-15 exciter showing similar problem that was traced to two areas. One was a bad interconnecting coax cable and the other was a contaminated output BNC connector on the exciter itself. Replaced both items and exciter came back to life. You might want to look at those areas as a start. I am sure you will get some other ideas from the group.

Only other thought at this time is the condition of the filter caps.

Fossil

apache45
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:50 am

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by apache45 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:44 am

Thanks for the response but, no, there is no VSWR as I am using a thru-line wattmeter into a dummy load.
Checked all cables & connections and they appear to be solid and working. I may have to get back into the A-2 card for more serious inspection, however.

DaveSt
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by DaveSt » Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:36 pm

Check the electrolytic caps in the PA unit, in particular C29 (82u/63V). If a 47u is fitted, change it. You can break the old one so that you do not have to remove the board.

grich
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by grich » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:27 pm

DaveSt wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:36 pm
Check the electrolytic caps in the PA unit, in particular C29 (82u/63V). If a 47u is fitted, change it...
C29 is mentioned in service bulletin FM-580-WCF. Get ahold of that and bulletin FM-535-WCF from the GatesAir website.
DaveSt wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:36 pm
...You can break the old one so that you do not have to remove the board.
Done that more times than I'd care to admit over the years. Sometimes faster in an emergency, sometimes less damage done doing it that way. And, it's the way the service bulletin tells you how to replace C29!

awsherrill
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Raleigh NC

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by awsherrill » Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:07 pm

Is C29 one of the caps responsible for the infamous Digit "whistle"?

grich
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:19 am
Location: MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision

Re: HARRIS DIGIT EXCITER

Post by grich » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:56 pm

awsherrill wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:07 pm
Is C29 one of the caps responsible for the infamous Digit "whistle"?
One of several. Previous thread link below...

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5907&hilit=digit

Post Reply