RDS options

Gotta watch those Fresnel zones!
Tunemanbbs
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:30 pm

RDS options

Post by Tunemanbbs » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:48 pm

Here is my situation and we are having a heck of a time getting this to work.

1) automation system = arrakis digilink hd software software does generate rds text files and serial data
2) barix instream and exstreamer being used as stl (not stl firmware)
3) nautel vs300 fm transmitter

Transmitter is not on site but internet at both sites.

So here is the big question....
Easiest / fastest / safest way to get the RDS between the two sites.

We have attempted to get the barix units to work and that has continued to fail. The documents are just terrible and doesn't give good detail.

We tried a virtual serial port to both transmitter and to the Barix unit. Barix seems to be able to connect to the virtual port however not vice versa.


Is there a way to send the xml from automation to the transmitter or even to get serial data to that remote site.

We can't be the only small station trying to do this....

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: RDS options

Post by Shane » Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:13 pm

Look here: arcticpalm.com. Works with Arrakis.
-Mike Shane- -Omaha-

Tunemanbbs
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:30 pm

Re: RDS options

Post by Tunemanbbs » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:12 am

I did actually see this application. The problem is this website is terrible. and now after review the cost of the darn product is $1000.00

DaveSt
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: RDS options

Post by DaveSt » Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:30 pm

If you just need to get RS232 data over an IP connection, then Lantronix make some good boxes for that. The UDS1100 for example.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:04 pm

Tunemanbbs wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:12 am
I did actually see this application. The problem is this website is terrible. and now after review the cost of the darn product is $1000.00
The good thing about more advanced RDS software and encoders is that you can monetize your RDS. Sell a few RDS commercials and drop them into a rotation of your station lines or song titles. I have a couple of clients that are billing $250/month on 2 different stations for advertisers info on their RDS full time. When those contracts run out in a few months, they are going to drop the price and start rotating the ads thru several advertisers.

And yes, as far as I can tell, Artic Palm is $1k for the first station but fairly deep discounts for additional stations sharing the same "server".
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3420
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: RDS options

Post by Deep Thought » Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:03 am

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:04 pm
Sell a few RDS commercials and drop them into a rotation of your station lines or song titles.
I can't believe this is a thing. If I saw that on my dashboard I would immediately change the station and delete the preset. Has anyone done any sort of study on how effective this nonsense is? Seems to be a really good way to drive (heh heh) people away.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:52 am

Deep Thought wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:03 am
kkiddkkidd wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:04 pm
Sell a few RDS commercials and drop them into a rotation of your station lines or song titles.
I can't believe this is a thing. If I saw that on my dashboard I would immediately change the station and delete the preset. Has anyone done any sort of study on how effective this nonsense is? Seems to be a really good way to drive (heh heh) people away.
No idea how effective with the listeners but their customer that is paying for the RDS ads calls any time the old Audimat RDS encoders lockup or fail. They have also floated the idea to other advertisers and have several that are wanting to do it when their sole client sales agreement runs out.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3420
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: RDS options

Post by Deep Thought » Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:48 pm

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:52 am
No idea how effective with the listeners but their customer that is paying for the RDS ads calls any time the old Audimat RDS encoders lockup or fail.
Typical radio logic: Who cares if it works or drives away listeners as long as we can make some short-term cash! :roll:
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:10 am

Deep Thought wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:48 pm
kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:52 am
No idea how effective with the listeners but their customer that is paying for the RDS ads calls any time the old Audimat RDS encoders lockup or fail.
Typical radio logic: Who cares if it works or drives away listeners as long as we can make some short-term cash! :roll:
That is absolutely true... However, I don't really see any reason that a line of ad text rotating onto the radio display every few minutes would alienate listeners. Well other than DT... It's not like they blast off at double volume in the middle of your favorite tune the way audio commercials do.

The only complaint that I am aware of (and my new truck radio suffers from it too) is that when you scroll the PS it drives some radios nuts. My Dodge UConnect locks onto the last 8 characters of the scrolled line and doesn't reset on that PI for hours. Other than a few gripes about the locked up PS field on some radios, they haven't reported any complaints.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

DaveSt
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: RDS options

Post by DaveSt » Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:52 pm

kkiddkkidd wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 9:52 am

That is absolutely true... However, I don't really see any reason that a line of ad text rotating onto the radio display every few minutes would alienate listeners. Well other than DT... It's not like they blast off at double volume in the middle of your favorite tune the way audio commercials do.

The only complaint that I am aware of (and my new truck radio suffers from it too) is that when you scroll the PS it drives some radios nuts. My Dodge UConnect locks onto the last 8 characters of the scrolled line and doesn't reset on that PI for hours. Other than a few gripes about the locked up PS field on some radios, they haven't reported any complaints.
The PS was always designed to be static in RDS, so scrolling it will give unpredictable results. Here in the UK, PS scrolling is not permitted. RadioText is the correct way to transmit dynamic text. Certainly in Europe, RT is increasingly displayed on car radios.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:32 pm

DaveSt wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:52 pm

The PS was always designed to be static in RDS, so scrolling it will give unpredictable results. Here in the UK, PS scrolling is not permitted. RadioText is the correct way to transmit dynamic text. Certainly in Europe, RT is increasingly displayed on car radios.
I have turned off the PS scrolling and have short (24 character iirc) RT messages that change every X seconds. Some radios play the scrolling PS either by character or word perfectly. Others not so much. Another odd thing with the Uconnect and a few other radios is that there is no longer a "more" or "info" button. My new radio shows about 25 characters of the RT field followed by "..." and no way to see the rest of the text.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
awsherrill
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:30 pm
Location: Raleigh NC

Re: RDS options

Post by awsherrill » Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:53 pm

I didn't think there was a way to make the PS "scroll" as the RT messages do. Like Kevin says, the PS text is actually static, it just changes every few seconds.

I haven't seen too many car radios (if any) that will display actual scrolling RT messages, although most of them seem to work OK with "dynamic PS". We have some consumer-model tuners here that will display either RT or PS.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:14 pm

awsherrill wrote:
Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:53 pm
I didn't think there was a way to make the PS "scroll" as the RT messages do. Like Kevin says, the PS text is actually static, it just changes every few seconds.

I haven't seen too many car radios (if any) that will display actual scrolling RT messages, although most of them seem to work OK with "dynamic PS". We have some consumer-model tuners here that will display either RT or PS.
The station owners Mitsubishi displays scrolling PS correctly whether set for character or word scrolling. My Ram Uconnect locks onto the last 8 characters of the scrolled text and won't let it go...

Scrolling RT works OK on my radio as long as it is about 24 characters or less.

The nice thing about standards is that there are so many of them...
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

DaveSt
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: RDS options

Post by DaveSt » Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:08 am

There is a document that covers this from the RDS Forum. It is old, but still relevant: http://www.rds.org.uk/2010/pdf/R09_048_6_no%20pw_57.pdf. The important bits are highlighted on page 4.

Page 40 of the NRSC guidelines also has some information on page 40:https://www.nrscstandards.org/standards ... g300-c.pdf.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: RDS options

Post by kkiddkkidd » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:56 am

DaveSt wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:08 am
There is a document that covers this from the RDS Forum. It is old, but still relevant: http://www.rds.org.uk/2010/pdf/R09_048_6_no%20pw_57.pdf. The important bits are highlighted on page 4.

Page 40 of the NRSC guidelines also has some information on page 40:https://www.nrscstandards.org/standards ... g300-c.pdf.
That explains the stuck 8 characters...
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

Post Reply