Where are EAS Location Codes ?

Want to know how something works? Harness the power of the Brainiacs!
Post Reply
Fran3
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:30 pm

Where are EAS Location Codes ?

Post by Fran3 » Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:29 pm

I'm checking the programming on an EAS system that has been in service for a long time and want to make sure the location codes meet the current standard... BUT... where is a list of the current state and county codes for use in an EAS system?

As I read it here...
https://www.nist.gov/sites/default/file ... rt2012.pdf

- State codes were in FIPS 5-2 and were replaced by INCITS 38
- County codes were in FIPS 6-4 and were replaced by INCITS 31

When I Google INCITS 38 codes or INCITS 31 codes I get to a page where they want to chare $60 for the document.

Surely I'm reading or understanding something wrong... so thanks for any help.

TPT
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Where are EAS Location Codes ?

Post by TPT » Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:48 pm

What brand EAS decoder? The Sage programming software shows counties and states, which is really all you need.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 836
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Where are EAS Location Codes ?

Post by kkiddkkidd » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:57 pm

TPT wrote:
Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:48 pm
What brand EAS decoder? The Sage programming software shows counties and states, which is really all you need.
As does the Dasdec IIRC. You shouldn't need much beyond the local county/state names for any compliant EAS unit. Some of the OLD, OLD, OLD EAS units required a direct FIPS code entry.

If the system has been in operation for a LONG, LONG time it very possibly isn't (and hasn't been for years) compliant with Part 11 rules.

This sounds suspiciously like a HolleyAnne encoder that just barely met the rules at the time of it's design.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

Post Reply