Barix Audio Issue

Gotta watch those Fresnel zones!
Post Reply
musiconradio.com
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Barix Audio Issue

Post by musiconradio.com »

Good morning,

Got a Barix Instreamer/Exstreamer. No stream drop outs but audio output gets choppy after feeding program for 30-35 minutes.

Any suggestions or possible settings. Thanks.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by kkiddkkidd »

Define "choppy"...

Are you running it over the internet or a private LAN? If internet, what is your up/down speeds? What encoding scheme/parameters are you using? Do you have enough network bandwidth to support your stream bandwidth requirements? The Barix boxes only have about .250 second of buffering so they run out of data pretty quickly if the network connection is poor.


If running them over the internet I use MP3 at whatever the highest bit rate the connection will reliably support. If over a private LAN or WAN, I use uncompressed when possible.

Good luck,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

musiconradio.com
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by musiconradio.com »

No audio issues listening to the instreamer in a web browser. The best way to describe the "choppy sound" is like picket fencing in a FM signal. It only occurs during program material. No audio dropouts or audio quality issues. So it seems to be a Exstreamer or bandwidth issue.

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by kkiddkkidd »

musiconradio.com wrote:
Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:39 am
No audio issues listening to the instreamer in a web browser. The best way to describe the "choppy sound" is like picket fencing in a FM signal. It only occurs during program material. No audio dropouts or audio quality issues. So it seems to be a Exstreamer or bandwidth issue.
I'm assuming that this is over the public internet, what encoding and bit rates are you using?
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

DaveSt
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:21 pm
Location: UK

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by DaveSt »

Try swapping out the power supplies.

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3514
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by Deep Thought »

What does the latency and jitter look like on the path? Those things do really poorly if the latency is not stable.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
Dale H. Cook
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by Dale H. Cook »

You need to answer the questions that Kevin Kidd and Deep Thought have asked before we can help you. Getting some of the Barix boxes to work over the public internet can be chancy at best because of insufficient buffering.
Dale H. Cook, Contract Engineer, Roanoke/Lynchburg, VA
http://plymouthcolony.net/starcityeng/index.html

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 908
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by Shane »

It only occurs during program material.
I’m confused by this statement. How else would you know it’s going on except for program material?

Ones I’ve set up for church remotes and such use 600 ms buffers, which I thought was the default setting. Had very few problems and nothing like this.

But there was one problem I’m not recalling exactly where an RF device had been placed near the Instreamer (a wi-fi device, I think) which caused the Instreamer some unhappiness until I moved them apart. Required a visit to the church to figure it out.
Mike Shane, CBRE
— — Omaha — —

musiconradio.com
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by musiconradio.com »

MP3 44KHZ 192K. Standard DSL. I'm also going to try to update the firmware. Listening to the Instreamer over a browser link the audio is perfect. looks like this issue is on the Exstreamer end.

I have attached a sample audio file (Sorry for the quality. I was home and recorded the audio on my phone), but you can hear the artifacts.
Attachments
Barix_Choppy_Audio.mp3
Barix Choppy Audio
(1.95 MiB) Downloaded 13 times

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by kkiddkkidd »

What is standard DSL? Do you know the real up/down speeds or can you test them on both ends? Most importantly the studio service. DSLReports.com or SpeedTest.net seems to stress connections better than some others.

Are you using VBR or CBR encoding? The lack of blipping during silent periods makes me think that it is VBR but you mentioned a bit rate in the description which indicates CBR.

Around here, basic DSL is just 3mb down and 256-512k up which often will not reliably support sending even a compressed MP3 stream. Especially if there is anything else on the network using bandwidth.

Try reducing the bitrate to see if the sound improves. You could also try moving the TX decoder to the studio network and see if you get the same sound with them on a hardwired network.

Regards,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

musiconradio.com
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:24 pm
Location: Livingston Alabama
Contact:

Re: Barix Audio Issue

Post by musiconradio.com »

Thanks everyone for the information.

The setting is CBR.

I think it is a bandwidth issue at the studio with the Exstreamer. The instreamer side has a 25MB upload. Also this Extreamer is coming out of the switcher. I'm going to move it to a output directly in the router to see if we get any results and reducing the bitrate.

Post Reply