Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Meet our new DJ. His name is Otto Mayshun.
Post Reply
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Post by kkiddkkidd »

Hi all,

I have a client that, without consulting anybody, purchased BSI Simian MULTI-INSTANCE to run their new main FM/HD1, HD2 and HD3 program audio. It works fine but only the first instance started will control their BT 16.4 switcher... BSI takes over the serial port and all additional apps attempting to access the port are blocked.

Anyone have any experience with combiners (hardware or software)? It looks like https://www.eltima.com/products/serialsplitter/ software product will provide separate several fully functional serial ports all combined to a single hardware serial port output. Cost $199...

I see a few other "free" combiners but they all seem to be free limited demos of paid software of the same name. Otherwise, I had thought of using 3ea USB to serial adapters all tied together on the serial side but not sure how that would workout.

And yes I know that it could be a train wreck if 2 or more of the Simian instances tried to send data at the same time...

Thanks,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3514
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Post by Deep Thought »

I have not used this particular product but the other stuff from Eltima Software that I have used is quite good. This one appears to queue serial port traffic in a way that may prevent a "crash" between two instances addressing the switcher, but then it is up to the switcher to be able to process them that close together.

You won't find anything worthwhile for free (BTDT) and trying to do this with hardware won't work at all unless it is exclusively unidirectional, outbound to the switcher. In that case you could just diode-or the TX lines together into the RX on the switcher but that is guaranteed to fail if you get two of them transmitting at once and may lock up the switcher's serial port.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Post by kkiddkkidd »

Thanks. I had never heard of the company but it looked like it was very flexible.

I actually have ran into similar instances where it would have been nice to be able to control or monitor a switcher with different apps but never pursued it.

Later,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

User avatar
Shane
Posts: 908
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:08 am
Location: Omaha
Contact:

Re: Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Post by Shane »

Terry Cowan, who hangs out on the CRTech forum might also have a solution for this.
Mike Shane, CBRE
— — Omaha — —

User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Serial Port Combining for Multi Instance Automation

Post by kkiddkkidd »

Shane wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:06 am
Terry Cowan, who hangs out on the CRTech forum might also have a solution for this.
Thanks Shane, I hadn't thought about Terry. He writes his own automation IIRC so will check with him. The above captioned software is not out of the budget for this project but I have several other instances where a free or cheap solution would be required.

Regards,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com

Post Reply