Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Gotta watch those Fresnel zones!
Post Reply
TPT
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by TPT »

Anyone know what the front panel off-on switch really does? Took this transmitter down while rearranging things in the racks, had trouble to get it to come back up.

Now on some models there is a fan sense lead, so if the fan doesn't draw any current the power supply stays off. Not on this one, though the Sunon fan was not in great shape. Have a back-up TFT STL, so ran on that while I ordered a new fan. Now it won't come up at all, best I can get it to do is briefly light up. The double-pole switch is apparently making a connection --can't get across the terminals the two wires are attached to, all gooped up with silicon, but the other terminals show continuity.

Suspicious of someone thinking too much in the design...I would have just looped one side of the AC through the switch to feed the supply.
ChuckG
Posts: 1076
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by ChuckG »

As you suspect, the power switch goes to a control card....
Good news is, I have the drawings for that. Bad news is, they are not in English... see below
Attachments
APPTEC_A3.pdf
(3.09 MiB) Downloaded 11 times
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin
www.northwoodstech.com
TPT
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by TPT »

Grazie molto!

Better Italian than pinyin.

Leaves me to suspect failing supply, at least leaky caps. Ten year old unit.
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by kkiddkkidd »

ChuckG wrote: Mon Jul 27, 2020 11:21 pm As you suspect, the power switch goes to a control card....
Good news is, I have the drawings for that. Bad news is, they are not in English... see below
Look around for other different branded but similar looking units and see if you can get a manual for one of them to compare. RVR in particular. A lot of this off shore equipment comes out of the the same factory with different branding.

The early RVR equipment was a nightmare to service as the importers and support people were South American (IIRC) and spoke little English. But to complicate things, they also spoke little to no Italian either. And as you would imagine, the Italians spoke very little English or Spanish. I just barely speak English and no Spanish outside of food and a few dirty words, and absolutely zero Italian.

Good luck.
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
TPT
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by TPT »

Just noted something on the schematic which would be handy for American manufacturers to add--radial capacitors are described not only in capacitance and voltage rating but also in diameter (millimeter, but that's fine).

We've all had fun squeezing over-sized caps into a tight circuit board. Most suppliers offer a variety of sizes for common values.
ChuckG
Posts: 1076
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Moo
Contact:

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by ChuckG »

TPT wrote: Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:18 am Leaves me to suspect failing supply, at least leaky caps. Ten year old unit.
Probably. They usually fail earlier than that. The stuff seems to run until you power it down, then won't come back. Changing the switcher usually fixes it. If that one has an external 24V input that's another test route.
<><><><><><><><><>
Chuck Gennaro
Central Wisconsin
www.northwoodstech.com
User avatar
Deep Thought
Posts: 3546
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:23 am
Location: La Grange, IL
Contact:

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by Deep Thought »

ChuckG wrote: Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:29 pm The stuff seems to run until you power it down, then won't come back.
I've seen some which would no longer start under load. Changing the capacitors usually brings them back but these power supplies are so cheap now that it is almost not cost-effective to spend the time.
Mark Mueller • Mueller Broadcast Design • La Grange, IL • http://www.muellerbroadcastdesign.com
TPT
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by TPT »

New supply brought it back to life. Not the cheapest route but have other projects coming up I need to worry about.

The supply feeds a ribbon cable, so not easily replaced with a generic supply. Will re-cap the old supply as a spare, as have two of these transmitters
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by kkiddkkidd »

TPT wrote: Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:17 am New supply brought it back to life. Not the cheapest route but have other projects coming up I need to worry about.

The supply feeds a ribbon cable, so not easily replaced with a generic supply. Will re-cap the old supply as a spare, as have two of these transmitters
Great to hear.

Is this a composite / mono STL? Armstrong was advertising a dual mono / discrete stereo STL pair under the name X-Link but as far as I know, they never made it to market. Or did they?
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
TPT
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:18 pm
Location: St. Marys, WV

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by TPT »

I came across what I remember as an RVR style box (Bext brand maybe) which was composite in--but had discrete outputs on the receiver. At least that's what it looked like.

Most of these RVR's I've come across are straight composite STL's. Front panel varies, rear panel similar.
User avatar
kkiddkkidd
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:13 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, TN

Re: Armstrong X-Link transmitter

Post by kkiddkkidd »

TPT wrote: Mon Aug 03, 2020 5:13 am I came across what I remember as an RVR style box (Bext brand maybe) which was composite in--but had discrete outputs on the receiver. At least that's what it looked like.

Most of these RVR's I've come across are straight composite STL's. Front panel varies, rear panel similar.
It probably would have been a contract build by RVR. Most of that ilk of equipment is built by RVR. The last time that I looked thru RVR's line, I didn't see anything dual mono or stereo.

I have a couple of clients using Marti mono pairs and a couple of Moseley 60xx digital encoders that are getting pretty long of the tooth.

Regards,
--
Kevin C. Kidd CSRE/AMD
WD4RAT
AM Ground Systems Company
http://www.amgroundsystems.com
KK Broadcast Engineering
http://www.kkbc.com
Post Reply